Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My husband was skeptical, but he enjoyed it and ate two bowls! I don't know my squashes and bought acorn squash instead of butternut. One lb was half an acorn squash. I chopped it a little smaller than 1 inch and am glad I did as the squash didn't cook down as much as I expected. Forgot to buy hominy. I've never used it & the chili was great without, so think I'll skip it in the future. The only other changes were a third clove of garlic and a tsp of salt instead of garlic salt. Also, I used a can of tomato paste instead of sauce, drained the beans, and upped the chicken broth to 1 cup. Be sure to add the whole Tbsp of cumin and cook at least a half hour for the flavors to meld and the squash to cook completely. The squash and seasonings meld to make a slightly sweet, savory flavor. Excellent and healthy. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very, very good. I served it at a football gathering as a healthier alternative to the regular chili - those who chose it, loved it! I made a couple small tweeks to make it more picky teen friendly - After the browning of the turkey, I added just the spices (including the addition of 1/2 T allspice) and simmered for maybe 5-10 minutes, this made the turkey meat look like ground beef. I also chopped the butternut into more like 1/2 - 3/4 inch chunks. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I really liked this recipe. It has a lot of depth and the surprising sweetness of bites of the squash are wonderful. My modifications were small- I added a handful each of frozen corn and spinach and used Lawry's seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. I nixed the chiles because I wasn't in the mood for spice. A dollop of plain greek yogurt at on top was perfect. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious recipe. I thought it was very flavorful, and mild enough for my children to enjoy. I did simmer higher and for longer than the recipe called for because it was a bit soupy and I like my chili thick. Worked perfectly...Will definitelymake this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe is a winner as it is. All the original recipe was followed to the letter. In addition, however, I added two (2) medium ORANGE tomatoes, medium dice, 12 oz. of CUBED turkey chunks (in addition to the ground already in the recipe), one (1) red bell pepper, medium diced, 1 TBS. brown sugar, 1 EXTRA TBS. of chili powder and lastly, I added some dry, ground ancho chile and cayenne powder to get a bit of heat - also some ground black pepper to taste. AWESOME!! The orange tomatoes and red bell pepper helped add that autumn / Halloween look with their colors as well as great flavor. This made for some very, very good chili that was already gone in less than 2 days. I am making another batch tonight - I love the hominy idea, so will likely add another can of that too. You've got to try this recipe - you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was delicious! Honestly I couldn't believe how good it was. The butternut squash gives it a fall twist and wonderful flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orchid_Bri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is definitely the best chili recipe I've tried. Lots of flavor and healthy too. I followed the recipe to a tee and added some additional seasoning (garlic powder, seasoned salt). I made this with some cornbread and had a delicious dinner w/my boyfriend. You also get a ton of chili out of this--we're freezing a batch to save for a quick dinner later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was very hesitant to add squash to chili, but i went for it (Acorn instead of Butternut). I forked the outside of the squash and baked for 15 mins at 400F before peeling and adding to pot. I replace the diced tomatoes & tomatoe sauce with 2 (10oz) cans of Spicy Rotel and a small can of tomato paste and 1 cup of broth. The recipe started out pretty bland, but was improved with additionalchili powder (total: 2 tblsp Chimayo Red + 2 tsp Pasilla)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
ive had turkey chili many times and butternut squash on the side but both combined is the most tastiest meal and its warming on those cold days. cheap to make and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seagrove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States