Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really yum. Great variation on the same old boring chili. Warmed me up nicely on a cool night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was better than I expected. The squash went so well with the chili. It added vitamins, subtle flavor, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
YUMMY!!!!! all my kids loved this!! Chopped the butternut squash into small pieces so my kids wouldn't know it was in there, used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of 1/2 c. and no tomatoes. When I was making a dinner list for this week my son asked to have this chili w/ the chips!! So cool- he actually asked for this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Deeeelicious! I had never made chili before and this was a great recipe for a first timer. Easy to make and delicious to eat. I ended up swapping out a few ingredients to accomodate what I did and didn't have in the fridge: Nixed the hominy and used 1 green bell peper instead Used a fresh serrano pepper instead of canned chilis Lots of Cayenne and no Cumin Drained the kidney beans a bit to keep the chili nice and thick I didn't have a butternut squash so I used an acorn squash instead Used fire roasted canned diced tomatoes to give it a smokier flavor Loved it! This recipe makes a ton of chili though, so I'd cut it in half if there are only 2 or 3 of you eating dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this is a good base chili recipe. the butternut squash makes it extra special! and the turkey helps to reduce some of the fat. i used fire roasted tomatoes, omitted the hominy and replaced it with chickpeas. i've also added black beans and corn. still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNETTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This chili was very refreshing to have included the turkey and squash. I let it cook in the crock pot for a few hours instead of making it quickly on the stove. Either way it makes an amazing dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I would make this again and again. It has wonderful flavor, body and is so pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I roasted and put puree into the slow cooker, added a cup of corn, a can of mushrooms, tomato soup instead of sauce, white beans instead of hominy, garlic powder instead of g. salt. Mexican cheese and cracked tortilla chips and you're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLovesCookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Easy, healthy, and hearty! Ignore where it says it serves 12, though. I think this, along with some crusty bread or some sweet cornbread, would have served 4 perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wonderful! Everyone loved it - picky eaters and hearty eaters alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikhrtlnd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States