Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this is a good base chili recipe. the butternut squash makes it extra special! and the turkey helps to reduce some of the fat. i used fire roasted tomatoes, omitted the hominy and replaced it with chickpeas. i've also added black beans and corn. still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNETTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This chili was very refreshing to have included the turkey and squash. I let it cook in the crock pot for a few hours instead of making it quickly on the stove. Either way it makes an amazing dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I would make this again and again. It has wonderful flavor, body and is so pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I roasted and put puree into the slow cooker, added a cup of corn, a can of mushrooms, tomato soup instead of sauce, white beans instead of hominy, garlic powder instead of g. salt. Mexican cheese and cracked tortilla chips and you're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLovesCookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Easy, healthy, and hearty! Ignore where it says it serves 12, though. I think this, along with some crusty bread or some sweet cornbread, would have served 4 perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wonderful! Everyone loved it - picky eaters and hearty eaters alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikhrtlnd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Good chili. Different from the ordinary. Like that I was able to use up some squash too! Even my 17 month old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe. Easy to make and the ingredients aren't expensive! I used frozen diced butternut squash and added some cilantro and shredded mexican blend cheese. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was great chili. I'm not a huge chili fan and neither is my youngest son, but this went over great. The only thing I did different was add 2 cups of water instead of the 1/2 cup (totally by accident, but worked out good). Everyone in the house loved it and wants me to make it more often! Great Job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Palisade, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My husband was skeptical, but he enjoyed it and ate two bowls! I don't know my squashes and bought acorn squash instead of butternut. One lb was half an acorn squash. I chopped it a little smaller than 1 inch and am glad I did as the squash didn't cook down as much as I expected. Forgot to buy hominy. I've never used it & the chili was great without, so think I'll skip it in the future. The only other changes were a third clove of garlic and a tsp of salt instead of garlic salt. Also, I used a can of tomato paste instead of sauce, drained the beans, and upped the chicken broth to 1 cup. Be sure to add the whole Tbsp of cumin and cook at least a half hour for the flavors to meld and the squash to cook completely. The squash and seasonings meld to make a slightly sweet, savory flavor. Excellent and healthy. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States