Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Easy, healthy, and hearty! Ignore where it says it serves 12, though. I think this, along with some crusty bread or some sweet cornbread, would have served 4 perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wonderful! Everyone loved it - picky eaters and hearty eaters alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikhrtlnd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Good chili. Different from the ordinary. Like that I was able to use up some squash too! Even my 17 month old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe. Easy to make and the ingredients aren't expensive! I used frozen diced butternut squash and added some cilantro and shredded mexican blend cheese. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was great chili. I'm not a huge chili fan and neither is my youngest son, but this went over great. The only thing I did different was add 2 cups of water instead of the 1/2 cup (totally by accident, but worked out good). Everyone in the house loved it and wants me to make it more often! Great Job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Palisade, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My husband was skeptical, but he enjoyed it and ate two bowls! I don't know my squashes and bought acorn squash instead of butternut. One lb was half an acorn squash. I chopped it a little smaller than 1 inch and am glad I did as the squash didn't cook down as much as I expected. Forgot to buy hominy. I've never used it & the chili was great without, so think I'll skip it in the future. The only other changes were a third clove of garlic and a tsp of salt instead of garlic salt. Also, I used a can of tomato paste instead of sauce, drained the beans, and upped the chicken broth to 1 cup. Be sure to add the whole Tbsp of cumin and cook at least a half hour for the flavors to meld and the squash to cook completely. The squash and seasonings meld to make a slightly sweet, savory flavor. Excellent and healthy. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very, very good. I served it at a football gathering as a healthier alternative to the regular chili - those who chose it, loved it! I made a couple small tweeks to make it more picky teen friendly - After the browning of the turkey, I added just the spices (including the addition of 1/2 T allspice) and simmered for maybe 5-10 minutes, this made the turkey meat look like ground beef. I also chopped the butternut into more like 1/2 - 3/4 inch chunks. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I really liked this recipe. It has a lot of depth and the surprising sweetness of bites of the squash are wonderful. My modifications were small- I added a handful each of frozen corn and spinach and used Lawry's seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. I nixed the chiles because I wasn't in the mood for spice. A dollop of plain greek yogurt at on top was perfect. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious recipe. I thought it was very flavorful, and mild enough for my children to enjoy. I did simmer higher and for longer than the recipe called for because it was a bit soupy and I like my chili thick. Worked perfectly...Will definitelymake this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States