Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Add brown sugar!!! This recipe was delicious with some tweaking. After reading many other reviews I did increase chicken stock to 3/4 cup, added tomato paste instead of sauce, and also included approx 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, and all spice. I also added closer to 2 tsp of garlic salt & just a dash of cayenne pepper (I like spicy food). When the chili was ready I was a bit dissapointed. I could see how others said the flavors didn't really "mesh." Then I realized it needs a bit of sugar to cut all of that acid. I added about 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and it made all the difference...seriously!!! So yummy!! My fiance doesn't like butternut squash at all, and he never eats leftovers. He ate it on Sunday & Monday nights, and raved with every bite. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was so good! I added black beans but did everything else as stated. I will definitely make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this with the addition of the allspice and using tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. I used black beans instead of kidney beans and omitted the hominy. I loved it! My husband was not at all fond of the squash, though, so I took it out the next go around. Now he tells me he'll give me whatever I want if I make it for him! Maybe I can include the squash one time and just tell him to pick it out of his...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really yum. Great variation on the same old boring chili. Warmed me up nicely on a cool night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was better than I expected. The squash went so well with the chili. It added vitamins, subtle flavor, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
YUMMY!!!!! all my kids loved this!! Chopped the butternut squash into small pieces so my kids wouldn't know it was in there, used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of 1/2 c. and no tomatoes. When I was making a dinner list for this week my son asked to have this chili w/ the chips!! So cool- he actually asked for this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Deeeelicious! I had never made chili before and this was a great recipe for a first timer. Easy to make and delicious to eat. I ended up swapping out a few ingredients to accomodate what I did and didn't have in the fridge: Nixed the hominy and used 1 green bell peper instead Used a fresh serrano pepper instead of canned chilis Lots of Cayenne and no Cumin Drained the kidney beans a bit to keep the chili nice and thick I didn't have a butternut squash so I used an acorn squash instead Used fire roasted canned diced tomatoes to give it a smokier flavor Loved it! This recipe makes a ton of chili though, so I'd cut it in half if there are only 2 or 3 of you eating dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this is a good base chili recipe. the butternut squash makes it extra special! and the turkey helps to reduce some of the fat. i used fire roasted tomatoes, omitted the hominy and replaced it with chickpeas. i've also added black beans and corn. still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNETTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This chili was very refreshing to have included the turkey and squash. I let it cook in the crock pot for a few hours instead of making it quickly on the stove. Either way it makes an amazing dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I would make this again and again. It has wonderful flavor, body and is so pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States