Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Im giving this 4 stars only because I didnt feel that there were enough seasonings. So I looked up chili seasonings on here and added that for the seasonings. My family loved it...After the kids ate it I told them it was squash. They were shocked. Thanks for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
yummy and only 3 points for the weight watchers points plus plan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My toddlers love this recipe and so do I. I add more beans and play with the spices to to make it fit for their more sensitive palates. The only other change I make is to bake 1 medium sized butternut squash first then take the peel off and mix it in. Once baked, the squash blends seamlessly into the chili and makes it thick and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is my absolute favorite recipe I have found on this site! I have made this chili a few times using my substitutions based on preference (for some reason I've always preferred a more stew-y chili vs. a soup-y chili). I double the garlic, eliminate the diced tomatoes, onion and green chilies, double the tomato sauce and add two shredded zucchinis and a dash of cinnamon. Delicious!!! Thanks for providing me with a great base recipe that I've been able to tweak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Different. I enjoyed it - my husband did not. I followed the recipe just as is. Next time I think I'll use more spices - it seemed just a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES ON THIS SITE. Two additional comments: 1. Must cut the butternut squash up into pretty small pieces (I like mine smaller than a 1/2 inch cubed) and cook for a while. 2. MUST MUST MUST garnish with cilantro (if you are a cilantro lover) and eat with avocado. It completely steps the dish up to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Our family loved this dish. Even my picky 2 year old twins enjoyed it! It was filling and incredibly tasty. I'm from Alberta and I couldn't find hominy anywhere - so I omitted it. I also used white kidney beans for a change and increased the amount of chicken stock to 1 cup. We are all looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a great chili however, because I do not care for ground turkey, next time I will use ground chuck. I took the other reviewers advice and added more chicken broth and oregano. I also used a potato as well....It was delish! Thanks for the recipe...: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was fantastic! It's now one of my favorite soups! I couldn't stop eating it! My whole family loves it too! I didn't use hominy as we don't have it in our area except for one brand and it was nasty so I used frozen corn. I also used black beans as we like those better than kidney beans and this came out amazing! Will be making this often! thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States