Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! I didn't follow this to the tee.. because my squash is huge! but I used specifically pasilla chili - it will give a nice warm kick! Don't worry, cook it a bit longer the squash will neutralize it and a bit of sugar will do the trick. I add black bean also in addition to the kidney bean, and instead of hominy i added corn almost at the end. The result is so yummy and warm. It's warm and good for winter. The squash melts in your mouth and you get the nice crunchy sweetness of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious! I added black beans and it was fantastic! I also added some jalapenos and used fire roasted canned tomoatoes to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious, quick and so easy! I did make a couple of changes: I couldn't find hominy so I pureed some corn; I used half chili powder, half smoked chipotle powder; I used 1.5 teas. of ground cumin instead of a full tbsp; and I didn't have garlic salt, so I added 1/2 tsp celery salt and 1/2 teas. garlic powder. I used a leftover roasted acorn squash which was mashed. This was one of the best chilis I've ever had, and definitely the best I've ever made. It was nice and thick - I didn't need to add the chicken broth. The flavors had depth and balance and it tasted like it had cooked all day instead of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
By my estimation this recipe is fantastic. I can't say for certain because of the changes I made. I used more garlic, 1 28oz jar of tomato sauce instead of the original tomato ingredients, I used leftover turkey instead of ground turkey, borrowed another reviewers suggestion to substitute canned corn for hominy, and I used freshly cooked beans instead of canned. I think the cumin- chili powder- garlic salt proportions are fine as is. It's got pep; however, it's a pleasant zing, not too pungent or hot. (Jalapenos are kinda hot for me. Habaneros are almost too hot for me to eat ever unless they are teamed up with something to counteract the capsicin. I say this to help define 'not too hot', the 'heat' level for this was like mild to medium salsa.) I had to extend the cooking time to account for the non canned beans, and I added the turkey (cubed) about halfway through to prevent drying out. When I made it the recipe filled an 8qt stock pot (1 lb of kidney beans and a lot of leftover turkey is probably why). My family was unanimous in their approval of the chili/ stew. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i added corn it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. My very favorite chile! After looking at the reviews I used4 cloves of garlic, a full can for fat free chicken broth, added a tsp of allspice and mixed in a little corn starch milk mixure. Cooked about 35 minutes. Yummy. This is a definate keeper and will go in on my fall/winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This chili is delicious, and healthy! I added 1 tsp all spice (suggested by another reviewer) and she is right--it does tie all the flavors together and gives it a nice, holiday-sweet flavor. Bonus: this recipe is super easy to make and impossible to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
May be the absolute best chili I have ever made! Fabulous recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really enjoyed this! I took the advice of several others and increased the garlic - I used 4 cloves. Instead of hominy I used chili beans because I had them on hand. I also increased the chicken broth to 1 1/4 c. because I didn't feel like there was enough liquid to get the squash cooked - and I added a little cornstarch mixture at the end to help thicken a little since I used the extra liquid. Super good and I'll be making this again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Excellent! I made this with beef instead of turkey, used 2 cans of rotel tomatoes instead of the tomatoes and green chilis, and substituted one can of chili beans for the hominy. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States