Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Have made this using sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash with excellent results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is so yummy. My husband, kids and I love it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe and it is a regular for my family. I use more squash just because I have it and a little more cumin, love the flavor. Great meal especially for a cold day and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out great! I made it last night and did not have all the ingredients on hand and it was still delicious. Instead of hominy I used a can of corn and also had no onion so sprinkled in some onion powder- It was DELICOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! I didn't follow this to the tee.. because my squash is huge! but I used specifically pasilla chili - it will give a nice warm kick! Don't worry, cook it a bit longer the squash will neutralize it and a bit of sugar will do the trick. I add black bean also in addition to the kidney bean, and instead of hominy i added corn almost at the end. The result is so yummy and warm. It's warm and good for winter. The squash melts in your mouth and you get the nice crunchy sweetness of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious! I added black beans and it was fantastic! I also added some jalapenos and used fire roasted canned tomoatoes to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious, quick and so easy! I did make a couple of changes: I couldn't find hominy so I pureed some corn; I used half chili powder, half smoked chipotle powder; I used 1.5 teas. of ground cumin instead of a full tbsp; and I didn't have garlic salt, so I added 1/2 tsp celery salt and 1/2 teas. garlic powder. I used a leftover roasted acorn squash which was mashed. This was one of the best chilis I've ever had, and definitely the best I've ever made. It was nice and thick - I didn't need to add the chicken broth. The flavors had depth and balance and it tasted like it had cooked all day instead of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
By my estimation this recipe is fantastic. I can't say for certain because of the changes I made. I used more garlic, 1 28oz jar of tomato sauce instead of the original tomato ingredients, I used leftover turkey instead of ground turkey, borrowed another reviewers suggestion to substitute canned corn for hominy, and I used freshly cooked beans instead of canned. I think the cumin- chili powder- garlic salt proportions are fine as is. It's got pep; however, it's a pleasant zing, not too pungent or hot. (Jalapenos are kinda hot for me. Habaneros are almost too hot for me to eat ever unless they are teamed up with something to counteract the capsicin. I say this to help define 'not too hot', the 'heat' level for this was like mild to medium salsa.) I had to extend the cooking time to account for the non canned beans, and I added the turkey (cubed) about halfway through to prevent drying out. When I made it the recipe filled an 8qt stock pot (1 lb of kidney beans and a lot of leftover turkey is probably why). My family was unanimous in their approval of the chili/ stew. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i added corn it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. My very favorite chile! After looking at the reviews I used4 cloves of garlic, a full can for fat free chicken broth, added a tsp of allspice and mixed in a little corn starch milk mixure. Cooked about 35 minutes. Yummy. This is a definate keeper and will go in on my fall/winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States