Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenvalese
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made mine in the crock pot... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I used black beans instead of kidney and omitted the hominy. Delicious, healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great low calorie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Mauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
It's a really good and simple recipe, I make a double batch and freeze it for later use. I find shredding Gruyere Cheese over the final product when serving adds a great nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Yumm! To up the spice level, I added smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and roasted the butternut squash first. Then, to balance that out, served with some fresh squeezed lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Quite tasty. Even my 8-yr old who does not like a lot said, "Yum!" Also very straightforward to make. The only changes I'd make are adding a bit more broth to make it soupier (1 c total), a bit more meat, like 1.5# total, and a bit more spices, like adding 1 T of Ancho chili powder and a few dashes of Buffalo Tabasco Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I only changed a few things but this turned out seriously amazing. Love the sweetness from the butternut squash. I don't think I can go back to normal chili after this. Changes I made were, seasoning the meat with crushed garlic, garlic salt and cooked onions and a little bit of the chili and cumin. And a pinch of sage and nutmeg to make it more sausage-y. Then I added the remaining ingredients to a crock pot and cooked on high for 4 hours or so. Also I used hunts petite cut tomatoes but they had a mild jalapeño flavor that I've never seen before and it really made a nice addition to this. I didn't have hominy either so I sub-ed for white beans. So good, will def make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie Salvagni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This chili is delicious! I adjusted some of the seasoning by adding chili flakes, Tony Chachere's and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMrsBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Used Navy and Cannelloni beans instead. This is amazing and I have plenty of leftovers. Very easy to prepare as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this recipe basically as written. I didn't have hominy (didn't even know what it was), so I used corn and I added a little more chicken broth...it came out delicious! I thought the seasonings were perfect and the house smelled wonderful! This recipe is great! I have never cooked with butternut squash...I'm so glad I found this recipe. I will make it again...and again...thanks for the wonderful recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States