Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gobsmacked2
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I added some lowfat cream cheese & nutmeg. I didn't have any ginger, so I used garlic. Topped it with French Fried Onions. Best butternut squash soup ever. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Made this today; it was unseasonably cold and I wanted something comforting and warm. This was beautiful! I didn't have tofu, so I used part skim milk, part half-and-half. I also melted a little Brie (no rind) into the soup, since I had some small cubes left over from a party. Complements the soup perfectly! This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This recipe was very disappointing. Followed the recipe to the tee, except omitted the optional green chile. I did taste it while the veggies were simmering, and it tasted very promising, I actually liked it before adding the tofu/pureeing it. The final product tasted like baby food, and not in a good way. My 2 year old didn't even like it. That was very surprising to me since he loves sweet potatoes, squash, and tofu. I was able to eat it with some grated parmesan cheese, but the hubby couldnt even stomach half of it. If I could change anything about it, I would not puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Pretty good, although I think milk or cream would be better than tofu. A little sweetish for my taste, maybe try with normal potatoes. Good for children too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I was looking for a nice Butternut Squash soup recipe when I came across this one with sweet potatoes. As with every cook, I made minor changes. Instead of tumeric\coriander\black pepper, I used curry powder, which has all of these ingredients. Instead of butter, I used Smart Balance spread. I ended up using 8 cups of vegetable broth made with vegetable bullion. At the time, I searched in vein for fresh thyme, but ended up using 1 1/2 teaspoons of powdered thyme. I ended up using a "stick" blender, which saved on clean-up up! Now to the result: a roomate, who works as a cook was surprised how tasty it was! I just had a few bowlfuls of it: it's VERY tasty! Goes great with some crusty bread like French or Italian. VERY, VERY, VERY Addicting!! 5 stars, it needs to have more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The only change I made was that I used the whole package of tofu and a second green chile because we like spicy foods and my family thought it was fantastic!!! Great soup for a cold winter day. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My husband absolutely hated it. His response, "I feel like a little kid who has to force food down before dessert." I found it palatable but that is about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was easy and delicious... Making it for Thanksgiving first course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
For someone that doesn't usually like this type of dish, this was pretty good! The seasoning was just right to compliment the squash and sweet potato flavors and gave it that nice, Fall-ish feel. It won't be a regular at our house, but cold Fall days and Thanksgiving are definitely possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious! The tofu is hidden! I used soft tofu and omitted the chilli. Mmm I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States