Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was skeptical about the sausage in here, but just curious enough to give it a try. Not a fan of the corn called for, I substituted chopped celery and added some minced garlic. I don't use turkey sausage, so I used Italian sausage instead. As it browned I added a good glug of Chardonnay. Both the garlic and the wine, I believe, contributed to what might have otherwise been a "flat" tasting soup. Once the soup was done, I was not happy with how thin it was, so I cooked another cup of rice in chicken broth, added that to the soup, and it was MUCH better. I garnished it with a squirt of mascarpone cheese and fresh chives. I like this! It's different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Blended squash with cream of chicken soup and added skim milk to thin. Cooked sausage with onions, fresh garlic, celery and red wine as advised by other reviewers. Seasoned meat mixture with southwest seasoning, cumin, basil, flaked chili peppers and cayenne b/c I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage then added to squash mixture. This soup was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I thought this was very tasty, but I did make some changes. I added some minced garlic, used brown rice plus more than a 1/2 cup to thicken up the soup. I used sweet turkey sausage and sauted it in chardonnay and topped off the soup with some mascarpone cheese as suggested by otehr reviewers. My hubby liked it as well...I will be making this again as butternut squash is my favorite. thanks Dena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
this soup was the BEST SOUP i've had in years. it seemed like sort of a strange combo, but trust me, amazing. you could make it a lot faster with a couple cans of pureed butternut squash, too, if you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caterwauler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This soup was a big hit with the growups, but my daughter said it was a little too sweet.(Imagine that!)I used brown basmati rice, precooked in my rice cooker, instead of the white, and it added a nutty flavor and texture. I also added chopped celery for additional flavor and crunch. I did have problems wrestling the squash out of the piping hot skins, however, but I plan to peel them before roasting next time. Even better the next day! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Great soup, I haven't served it to hubby yet, but I can't stop "testing" it! I only had low fat breakfast sausage and the seasoning are very pleasant with the butternut squash. I left out corn (personal preference) added garlic, celery and chopped fresh green beans-also didn't bother blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great soup! I used regular pork sausage b/c I couldn't find turkey and I was afraid my young ones wouldn't like the heat - although I can see where it would really add alot! My husband added some hot sauce to his bowl and again to his second. :) I added not quite twice as much rice, but I was also short on corn. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I wasn't sure about this recipe because I've never cooked butternut squash before, but it was excellent! Hearty and delicious. Even my husband couldn't get enough, and he's not a big soup eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used a little less ground pork sausage and it turned out great!! You could also add other veggies like celery and carrots or even potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Kenaga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I followed some of the other reviews by roasting the squash, which makes things much easier. I'm not a big fan of rice in soup, so I substituted cubed red potatoes & it was fantastic. It became more of a chowder, but it was perfect for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States