Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This soup was a big hit with the growups, but my daughter said it was a little too sweet.(Imagine that!)I used brown basmati rice, precooked in my rice cooker, instead of the white, and it added a nutty flavor and texture. I also added chopped celery for additional flavor and crunch. I did have problems wrestling the squash out of the piping hot skins, however, but I plan to peel them before roasting next time. Even better the next day! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I love soups in the fall and this is one of my new favorites. I did add a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper for a little more spice and to soften the sweetness. I also used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 which left it creamy, but without the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was *so* good. I used two cans of cream corn instead of frozen corn and cream (because that is what I had on hand). My husband and daughter really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was a hit at our house. Even my 3 year old liked it! After the squash was cooked, I let it cool while I cooked the rice. Then I peeled the skin off instead of scooping it out. Also, I used a pretty spicy sausage and reduced the black pepper by half. This took me 2 hours from start to finish, but I also have two young children (many interruptions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
this was so yummy my 12 year old asked me to make it again. I added garlic and napa cabbage (because I have a ton I needed to use up) and i am looking forward to the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I followed some of the other reviews by roasting the squash, which makes things much easier. I'm not a big fan of rice in soup, so I substituted cubed red potatoes & it was fantastic. It became more of a chowder, but it was perfect for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I found this was a bit runny for squash soup. I think I prefer a plainer version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this with roasted squash left over from thanksgiving, and subbed turkey broth for chicken broth, and added some chili flake. I like to add yogurt after serving for added creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Excellent! Butternut squashes come in many different sizes and mine was obviously smaller than needed for this recipe. Weight would have been a good idea for the recipe. I did roast it, just do it with enough time for it to cool off a bit to work with. I used less broth because it was pretty runny after two cups. I also used some left over brown rice from PF Changs which made it even easier! I added a little half and half at the end since I didn't have cream on hand. My husband and I raved about it. However, my two year old wouldn't touch it. Oh well, we liked it so much we'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We loved this! Thanks for the recipe. I did, however, substitute potatoes for the rice. I will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIOGITI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States