Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wow - what a great recipe! I went with mild sausage because of my kids and I thought I wouldn't like it (too bland) but what a surprise. It was excellent - I can't wait to make it again and I haven't even finished the first pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It was great. I used acorn, butternut and spaghetti squash. I also added 2 minced cloves of garlic after browning the sausage. My picky husband called this "restaurant soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I submitted this recipe, you will need to use one large butternut squash or two smaller ones. Try blending the squash with one can of soup first and check the consistency, add more depending on how thick or thin you prefer your soup. Sometimes when I'm feeling very lazy I'll just buy frozen or canned squash to cut down on time. The soup is highly adaptable. Any type of rice you have on hand and other vegetables you want to throw in work fine I think. I just posted as my favorite way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We loved this! Thanks for the recipe. I did, however, substitute potatoes for the rice. I will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIOGITI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Excellent! Butternut squashes come in many different sizes and mine was obviously smaller than needed for this recipe. Weight would have been a good idea for the recipe. I did roast it, just do it with enough time for it to cool off a bit to work with. I used less broth because it was pretty runny after two cups. I also used some left over brown rice from PF Changs which made it even easier! I added a little half and half at the end since I didn't have cream on hand. My husband and I raved about it. However, my two year old wouldn't touch it. Oh well, we liked it so much we'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this with roasted squash left over from thanksgiving, and subbed turkey broth for chicken broth, and added some chili flake. I like to add yogurt after serving for added creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I found this was a bit runny for squash soup. I think I prefer a plainer version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I followed some of the other reviews by roasting the squash, which makes things much easier. I'm not a big fan of rice in soup, so I substituted cubed red potatoes & it was fantastic. It became more of a chowder, but it was perfect for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
this was so yummy my 12 year old asked me to make it again. I added garlic and napa cabbage (because I have a ton I needed to use up) and i am looking forward to the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was a hit at our house. Even my 3 year old liked it! After the squash was cooked, I let it cool while I cooked the rice. Then I peeled the skin off instead of scooping it out. Also, I used a pretty spicy sausage and reduced the black pepper by half. This took me 2 hours from start to finish, but I also have two young children (many interruptions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States