Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Ok, this wasn't great. Actually the taste was ok, it was just kind of strange. Not certain if I agree that the sausage goes well with the squash. Next time I will try the plain creamy squash soup I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I think this is my favorite recipe I have made from allrecipe! I make extra and it tastes good the second time round too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was pretty good as written. I did make a few changes based on what I had available, but overall stayed true to the base recipe. Butternut and spicy sausage turned out to be an excellent combination - sweet, spicy, salty. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Veggie sausage works really well in this. My meat-and-potatoes extended family was not just okay, but excited about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was very good. I added more rice like the other reviewers suggested because I do like thicker soup. I added some spices also - sage and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Excellent! Doubled the rice, added a glug of red wine, 1/2 T. cumin, 1/2 T. Chili Powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsteph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I must have done something wrong because this was inedible. I even tried to salvage it by adding cheese to it. Maybe it's possible that I had a bad butternut. I'm really sorry but I did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have made this twice and each time it's deeeeeelicious!! I have no idea what size or the quantity of squash to use so i've just added more or less water/broth. I love how thick and hearty it is. Great wintery meal with so many great ingredients. i recommend it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
What a great combination of sweet and spicy! Instead of rice, I used barley which added a great texture for a hearty soup. As suggested, I used cumin, basil, cayenne and red pepper flakes with ground turkey and cooked with copious amounts of white cooking wine. Roasted squash PEELED - easy to chop and blend. I also added a hint of cinnamon give a warm spice to sweet and spicy. To make healthier and less spicy, add plain yogurt instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Following the recommendations of others, I added wine, celery, garlic and more rice to this recipe. This is definitely a recipe with a sweet and spicy taste--if that's a flavor combination you enjoy, you'll probably like this soup. Most of the flavor comes from the sausage, so make sure you take that into consideration. I definitely enjoyed making this unique recipe and I'm sure I'll make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States