Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I love soups in the fall and this is one of my new favorites. I did add a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper for a little more spice and to soften the sweetness. I also used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 which left it creamy, but without the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this with roasted squash left over from thanksgiving, and subbed turkey broth for chicken broth, and added some chili flake. I like to add yogurt after serving for added creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It was great. I used acorn, butternut and spaghetti squash. I also added 2 minced cloves of garlic after browning the sausage. My picky husband called this "restaurant soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was *so* good. I used two cans of cream corn instead of frozen corn and cream (because that is what I had on hand). My husband and daughter really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
this was so yummy my 12 year old asked me to make it again. I added garlic and napa cabbage (because I have a ton I needed to use up) and i am looking forward to the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We loved this! Thanks for the recipe. I did, however, substitute potatoes for the rice. I will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIOGITI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Excellent! Butternut squashes come in many different sizes and mine was obviously smaller than needed for this recipe. Weight would have been a good idea for the recipe. I did roast it, just do it with enough time for it to cool off a bit to work with. I used less broth because it was pretty runny after two cups. I also used some left over brown rice from PF Changs which made it even easier! I added a little half and half at the end since I didn't have cream on hand. My husband and I raved about it. However, my two year old wouldn't touch it. Oh well, we liked it so much we'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was a hit at our house. Even my 3 year old liked it! After the squash was cooked, I let it cool while I cooked the rice. Then I peeled the skin off instead of scooping it out. Also, I used a pretty spicy sausage and reduced the black pepper by half. This took me 2 hours from start to finish, but I also have two young children (many interruptions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wow - what a great recipe! I went with mild sausage because of my kids and I thought I wouldn't like it (too bland) but what a surprise. It was excellent - I can't wait to make it again and I haven't even finished the first pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I submitted this recipe, you will need to use one large butternut squash or two smaller ones. Try blending the squash with one can of soup first and check the consistency, add more depending on how thick or thin you prefer your soup. Sometimes when I'm feeling very lazy I'll just buy frozen or canned squash to cut down on time. The soup is highly adaptable. Any type of rice you have on hand and other vegetables you want to throw in work fine I think. I just posted as my favorite way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States