Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We loved this! Thanks for the recipe. I did, however, substitute potatoes for the rice. I will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIOGITI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Excellent! Butternut squashes come in many different sizes and mine was obviously smaller than needed for this recipe. Weight would have been a good idea for the recipe. I did roast it, just do it with enough time for it to cool off a bit to work with. I used less broth because it was pretty runny after two cups. I also used some left over brown rice from PF Changs which made it even easier! I added a little half and half at the end since I didn't have cream on hand. My husband and I raved about it. However, my two year old wouldn't touch it. Oh well, we liked it so much we'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this with roasted squash left over from thanksgiving, and subbed turkey broth for chicken broth, and added some chili flake. I like to add yogurt after serving for added creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I found this was a bit runny for squash soup. I think I prefer a plainer version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I followed some of the other reviews by roasting the squash, which makes things much easier. I'm not a big fan of rice in soup, so I substituted cubed red potatoes & it was fantastic. It became more of a chowder, but it was perfect for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
this was so yummy my 12 year old asked me to make it again. I added garlic and napa cabbage (because I have a ton I needed to use up) and i am looking forward to the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was a hit at our house. Even my 3 year old liked it! After the squash was cooked, I let it cool while I cooked the rice. Then I peeled the skin off instead of scooping it out. Also, I used a pretty spicy sausage and reduced the black pepper by half. This took me 2 hours from start to finish, but I also have two young children (many interruptions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was *so* good. I used two cans of cream corn instead of frozen corn and cream (because that is what I had on hand). My husband and daughter really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I love soups in the fall and this is one of my new favorites. I did add a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper for a little more spice and to soften the sweetness. I also used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 which left it creamy, but without the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This soup was a big hit with the growups, but my daughter said it was a little too sweet.(Imagine that!)I used brown basmati rice, precooked in my rice cooker, instead of the white, and it added a nutty flavor and texture. I also added chopped celery for additional flavor and crunch. I did have problems wrestling the squash out of the piping hot skins, however, but I plan to peel them before roasting next time. Even better the next day! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States