Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great soup! I used regular pork sausage b/c I couldn't find turkey and I was afraid my young ones wouldn't like the heat - although I can see where it would really add alot! My husband added some hot sauce to his bowl and again to his second. :) I added not quite twice as much rice, but I was also short on corn. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My favorite butternut squash soup! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I thought this was very tasty, but I did make some changes. I added some minced garlic, used brown rice plus more than a 1/2 cup to thicken up the soup. I used sweet turkey sausage and sauted it in chardonnay and topped off the soup with some mascarpone cheese as suggested by otehr reviewers. My hubby liked it as well...I will be making this again as butternut squash is my favorite. thanks Dena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really liked this soup, I did use tofurky italian sausage and soy creamer instead of heavy cream. (to make it vegan) I also added a bit of cayenne pepper and cumin. Left out the corn and added celery as some others mentioned. Very good! Served with a slice of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow - this was fabulous! My husband, who doesn't like squash, really liked it, too! I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage and used regular sausage instead. To make it spicy I added a little cayenne while I was grilling the meat and onions. Be careful though, a little bit goes a LONG ways! :) We will definately have this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This time of year I enjoy soups very much and make a lot of them. This one I will not try again. Texture and flavor just is not what we look for in a soup. Some may like it but, I don’t recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I did everything exactly as the recipe called for, except that I used chicken boullion instead of broth, and no cream. I used chicken italian sausage, which was great! I was really unsure as I have never cooked with butternut squash before, but it turned out fantastic--even my husband was pleasantly surprised! Oh, and make sure you bake the seeds, just like pumpkin seeds only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was skeptical about the sausage in here, but just curious enough to give it a try. Not a fan of the corn called for, I substituted chopped celery and added some minced garlic. I don't use turkey sausage, so I used Italian sausage instead. As it browned I added a good glug of Chardonnay. Both the garlic and the wine, I believe, contributed to what might have otherwise been a "flat" tasting soup. Once the soup was done, I was not happy with how thin it was, so I cooked another cup of rice in chicken broth, added that to the soup, and it was MUCH better. I garnished it with a squirt of mascarpone cheese and fresh chives. I like this! It's different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Outstanding! The only changes I made were to use chopped andouille sausage (what I had onhand) and finished the soup with half-n-half. I bet kielbasa would be great in it, as well. I added a cup or so of extra cooked rice to make it thicker. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I really liked this soup and thought it was so perfect for fall. I felt it was a little bland, though, so I added some garlic powder and a few other spices, which seemed to help. I also doubled the rice, and thought it came out much thicker and nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States