Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Delicious!!! My boyfriend & I made it for a little family dinner, & everybody loved it. Made some changes: replaced the turkey sausage with chicken sausage (the kind with chunks of apples in it, which made the soup sweeter), ditched the corn, & instead added 2 potatoes, cubed, as suggested by some other users. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Used Antelope Sausage instead of Turkey - so that definitely changed the flavor a bit. I didn't follow directions exactly, is the likely reason that this is not my favorite recipe, but I'm enjoying it nonetheless and would highly recommend trying it in your home as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Tasty, tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Blended squash with cream of chicken soup and added skim milk to thin. Cooked sausage with onions, fresh garlic, celery and red wine as advised by other reviewers. Seasoned meat mixture with southwest seasoning, cumin, basil, flaked chili peppers and cayenne b/c I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage then added to squash mixture. This soup was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I wasn't sure about this recipe because I've never cooked butternut squash before, but it was excellent! Hearty and delicious. Even my husband couldn't get enough, and he's not a big soup eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe - I changed it up a little. I only had spicy italian sausage when I made it so I sauteed the onions and then the sausauge then added a little crushed red pepper flakes to make a little more spicy. I pureed the squash in the blender and added in the chicken stock with the rice and then added a little heavy cream at the end - YUMMY. My husband loves this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used a little less ground pork sausage and it turned out great!! You could also add other veggies like celery and carrots or even potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great soup! I used regular pork sausage b/c I couldn't find turkey and I was afraid my young ones wouldn't like the heat - although I can see where it would really add alot! My husband added some hot sauce to his bowl and again to his second. :) I added not quite twice as much rice, but I was also short on corn. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My favorite butternut squash soup! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I thought this was very tasty, but I did make some changes. I added some minced garlic, used brown rice plus more than a 1/2 cup to thicken up the soup. I used sweet turkey sausage and sauted it in chardonnay and topped off the soup with some mascarpone cheese as suggested by otehr reviewers. My hubby liked it as well...I will be making this again as butternut squash is my favorite. thanks Dena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States