Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is one amazing soup, exaclty the way it is!! I used it last year, and got rave reviews at thanksgiving! I couldn't wait for squash season this year to break it out again. There is no need for the cream, it is plently thick and creamy enough without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
this soup was the BEST SOUP i've had in years. it seemed like sort of a strange combo, but trust me, amazing. you could make it a lot faster with a couple cans of pureed butternut squash, too, if you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caterwauler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Delicious!!! My boyfriend & I made it for a little family dinner, & everybody loved it. Made some changes: replaced the turkey sausage with chicken sausage (the kind with chunks of apples in it, which made the soup sweeter), ditched the corn, & instead added 2 potatoes, cubed, as suggested by some other users. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Used Antelope Sausage instead of Turkey - so that definitely changed the flavor a bit. I didn't follow directions exactly, is the likely reason that this is not my favorite recipe, but I'm enjoying it nonetheless and would highly recommend trying it in your home as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Tasty, tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Blended squash with cream of chicken soup and added skim milk to thin. Cooked sausage with onions, fresh garlic, celery and red wine as advised by other reviewers. Seasoned meat mixture with southwest seasoning, cumin, basil, flaked chili peppers and cayenne b/c I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage then added to squash mixture. This soup was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I wasn't sure about this recipe because I've never cooked butternut squash before, but it was excellent! Hearty and delicious. Even my husband couldn't get enough, and he's not a big soup eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe - I changed it up a little. I only had spicy italian sausage when I made it so I sauteed the onions and then the sausauge then added a little crushed red pepper flakes to make a little more spicy. I pureed the squash in the blender and added in the chicken stock with the rice and then added a little heavy cream at the end - YUMMY. My husband loves this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used a little less ground pork sausage and it turned out great!! You could also add other veggies like celery and carrots or even potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Kenaga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States