Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I don't like squash, but I had to give this a try. It was definitely worth it! I used pork sausage and added chopped celery. Also, to make it much quicker, microwave the squash. Cut the squash in half, remove the seeds. Put a little butter in each half, sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave on high for 5-7 minutes or until squash is tender. Then just scoop out of the peel and let cool before putting in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Marie Pack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
OH My GOODNESS, this soup is amazing! I made it as stated, but instead of corn, I added chopped spinach, I added garlic like other reviewers stated and added a little bit more brown rice than it called for. It was DELICIOUS...even my hubby, who normally doesn't like soup, had seconds. I usually don't leave reviews, but this was too good not to review!! I didn't add the cream at the end, but did put a little so cream in my bowl and a little italian cheese shreds. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It just needs more flavor. Everything works together but it doesn't taste like much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made a few modifications. Spiced the sausage with cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper, garlic, sea salt and pepper. I added baby bellas, and celery with the onions. I made jasmine rice and used 1c. sour cream in place of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I loved the taste, and so did my husband. He just doesn't care for the texture, so it won't be made again, unfortunately! I used brown rice. I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage, so I used regular turkey sausage & added approx 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp garlic salt, and pepper. I also added 1 cup sliced carrots, steamed, and added them to the squash to puree. The mixture of ingredients is really what makes this soup stand out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great Soup! I made it with Johnsonville Italian sausage and deglazed the pan with white wine per some other reviews --and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was my 1st time cooking any kind of squash - I followed the directions exactly and it was amazing! My only critique is that the rice soaks up the broth, so now I don't add it to the pot, but instead add some cooked rice right before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELACINE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This soup is super yummy. My husband commented that it was like two different soups I've made before combined in to one. He loved it. The sausage goes great with butternut squash and the heavy cream is a yummy addition but definitely not a must for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this first just about as the instructions dictated & it was very good. The second time I made it, I substituted sweet potatoes for the squash and it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving this recipe a 4 because it was awesome but I made a ton of changes to it. First, I used smoked sausaged that I halved and sliced instead of loose, spicy sausage. I also sauteed onions, celery, and carrots along with the sausage. Toward the end I added about a cup of cheese and doubled the amount of rice called for. It was five stars for sure that way. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States