Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It just needs more flavor. Everything works together but it doesn't taste like much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made a few modifications. Spiced the sausage with cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper, garlic, sea salt and pepper. I added baby bellas, and celery with the onions. I made jasmine rice and used 1c. sour cream in place of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I loved the taste, and so did my husband. He just doesn't care for the texture, so it won't be made again, unfortunately! I used brown rice. I couldn't find spicy turkey sausage, so I used regular turkey sausage & added approx 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp garlic salt, and pepper. I also added 1 cup sliced carrots, steamed, and added them to the squash to puree. The mixture of ingredients is really what makes this soup stand out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great Soup! I made it with Johnsonville Italian sausage and deglazed the pan with white wine per some other reviews --and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was my 1st time cooking any kind of squash - I followed the directions exactly and it was amazing! My only critique is that the rice soaks up the broth, so now I don't add it to the pot, but instead add some cooked rice right before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELACINE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This soup is super yummy. My husband commented that it was like two different soups I've made before combined in to one. He loved it. The sausage goes great with butternut squash and the heavy cream is a yummy addition but definitely not a must for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this first just about as the instructions dictated & it was very good. The second time I made it, I substituted sweet potatoes for the squash and it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving this recipe a 4 because it was awesome but I made a ton of changes to it. First, I used smoked sausaged that I halved and sliced instead of loose, spicy sausage. I also sauteed onions, celery, and carrots along with the sausage. Toward the end I added about a cup of cheese and doubled the amount of rice called for. It was five stars for sure that way. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Took advise for others b/c i too didn't spicy sausage on hand, only turkey sausage. Added cumin, cayenne pepper, paprika, and crushed red peppers. In small amounts. Didnt want the spices to be overpowering. I did add a small amount of cream at the end just to make it a little more on the creamy side. Thanks for the recipe and for the extra input. I'm enjoying this community of true and tried recipes!!!!!!!! :-) Family is loving all the new and improved foods. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This receipe was delicious...the picture is very misleading though. It's really a beautiful shade of butternut yellow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States