Butternut Squash and Shiitake Mushroom Wild Rice Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Great mix of a slight hint of sweet and the pungent Gorgonzola cheese. Big hit here tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe using left over rice and precooked squash. I did not have mushrooms, so used smoked oysters! It turned out good, smoky and interesting. Thanks for a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This risotto is delicious even with only half the olive oil and no butter! I used organic chicken broth powder, fresh shiitake mushrooms, and hand-harvested 30-minute wild rice. I recommend Parmesan instead of blue cheese because of the overwhelming nature of blue cheese. The dish makes more than 10 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy Hugelier
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Good mix of flavors, but the Gorgonzola kind of overpowers the squash. Next time I might try a milder cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
In a word: AMAZING! I made a few substitutions and had to play the cooking time by ear: used Orzo pasta instead of Arborio rice since I just couldnt find any, and canned mushrooms instead of fresh shitake (which I'm sure means itd be even BETTER with fresh mushrooms!!!), but it still came out absolutely FABULOUS! And the plus side was Orzo takes a much shorter cooking time. The flavor is pretty intense, so maybe better as a side than a main dish? The cheese makes this VERY rich and savory. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I should have paid more attention to the review which mentioned that the wild rice needs more cooking time. I was overall disappointed in this recipe. I used Parmesan instead of Gorgonzola. Perhaps if I had used the Gorgonzola I would have been happier with the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Made it with all Arborio rice but otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely. So pleased with the result. This is a keeper. Already thinking about where to fit it into the Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
The only bad thing I can say is that I should have precooked the wild rice a little, since it takes longer to soften than arborio rice. So the wild rice is still a little hard, but still tastes amazing. I followed the recipe to the letter, except instead of Gorgonzola cheese, I did use a mix of parmigiano reggiano and ricotta (for extra creaminess). The result was out of this world. I also added chicken breast to the final product to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had to make small modifications in order to use similar ingredients I had available. I did not use the optional maple syrup, preferred to use just the arborio rice, chicken broth rather than vegetable broth, and dried porcini mushrooms instead of the shiitake. To accommodate a “cheese picky” husband, I used the submitter’s suggestion to substitute Parmesan cheese for the gorgonzola. (He doesn’t like that either, but I know it was the lesser of two evils for him so I kind of snuck it in) This was one of the best, most interesting side dishes I’ve had in awhile. Wonderfully rich, complex blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have just discovered allrecipes, and this is my fourth recipe. It is fabulous. I substituted a wild mushroom mix from Costco, and a wild/brown rice mix, also from Costco. Also substituted White Stilton for the Gorgonzola. It tastes amazing. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States