Butternut Squash and Shiitake Mushroom Wild Rice Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
we loved this so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djtabor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Best Risotto I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
The only bad thing I can say is that I should have precooked the wild rice a little, since it takes longer to soften than arborio rice. So the wild rice is still a little hard, but still tastes amazing. I followed the recipe to the letter, except instead of Gorgonzola cheese, I did use a mix of parmigiano reggiano and ricotta (for extra creaminess). The result was out of this world. I also added chicken breast to the final product to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
In a word: AMAZING! I made a few substitutions and had to play the cooking time by ear: used Orzo pasta instead of Arborio rice since I just couldnt find any, and canned mushrooms instead of fresh shitake (which I'm sure means itd be even BETTER with fresh mushrooms!!!), but it still came out absolutely FABULOUS! And the plus side was Orzo takes a much shorter cooking time. The flavor is pretty intense, so maybe better as a side than a main dish? The cheese makes this VERY rich and savory. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I am giving five stars - but I did make a couple of changes. I had some leftover smoked teal (wild duck) breast that was wrappped in bacon, so I diced some of the bacon and added with the onions then I added the diced smoked duck breast with the roasted butternut squash. I used about equal parts squash and smoked duck. I also used parm instead of gorgonzola because that is what I had on hand - I live at high altitude so have to add more liquid and cook for longer as usual for high alt adj. but this turned out fantastic! The depth and layers of flavor is amazing! Will definitly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have just discovered allrecipes, and this is my fourth recipe. It is fabulous. I substituted a wild mushroom mix from Costco, and a wild/brown rice mix, also from Costco. Also substituted White Stilton for the Gorgonzola. It tastes amazing. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used dried mixed mushrooms because I have a huge container of them from Costco. I also had some other random variety of squash that I used in place of butternut. It takes a while to cook (being risotto), but it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had to make small modifications in order to use similar ingredients I had available. I did not use the optional maple syrup, preferred to use just the arborio rice, chicken broth rather than vegetable broth, and dried porcini mushrooms instead of the shiitake. To accommodate a “cheese picky” husband, I used the submitter’s suggestion to substitute Parmesan cheese for the gorgonzola. (He doesn’t like that either, but I know it was the lesser of two evils for him so I kind of snuck it in) This was one of the best, most interesting side dishes I’ve had in awhile. Wonderfully rich, complex blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Andy Hugelier
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Good mix of flavors, but the Gorgonzola kind of overpowers the squash. Next time I might try a milder cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This risotto is delicious even with only half the olive oil and no butter! I used organic chicken broth powder, fresh shiitake mushrooms, and hand-harvested 30-minute wild rice. I recommend Parmesan instead of blue cheese because of the overwhelming nature of blue cheese. The dish makes more than 10 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States