Butternut Squash and Pecan Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good dish, and not overly sweet; made as written. Other recipes like this call for 1/2 cup sugar or more versus 1/4 cup for this one. For the ‘1/2 cup cracker crumbs’, used 12 Ritz crackers. The nut topping, with sunflower seeds included, gives this a nice twist from the norm. While using the specified amount of butter, next time might reduce it slightly to say 3 tablespoons. A good choice for a Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner, especially if lots of sweet stuff is already in the planned food choices. Thank you emoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
If you take this to a pot luck dinner, you'll be overwhelmd by the requests for the recipe. I didn't have crackers so I used crushed potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Delicious! Loved this. It was great. I used 1 whole package of Ritz crackers and used a lot more butter 1/2 cup when drizzling over them. I also used a whole onion. The nuts on top are so different and unusual but taste yummy. Loved it and so did the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used Splenda instead of sugar, egg whites instead of a whole egg, low fat mayonnaise and cheese to cut he calories and fat. It was delicious 157calories a serving and 10.4 gms of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Used panko crumbs, pecans and pumpkin seeds. I think you could use any nuts and seeds. I used two Tbl of dried onion flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My husband and I both love this recipe. The mayo and onion make it different from the typical sweet squash casseroles, aand give it a velvety texture as well. I'm making it for the third time tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is wonderful. I used coconut oil, sesame crackers, breadcrumbs and almonds on top because that is what I had and it still turned out great. I did precook the squash in the microwave to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dubois, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I enjoyed it. Substituted sliced almonds for the seeds/nuts because it's what I had. Measured the sugar a little lean. Think I'll be sure to use a sweet onion next time because the yellow onion was a little strong. I'll likely put the onion in the blender because the kids (7 and 4yrs) really liked their first bite, but I think the texture turned them off. I was so glad to find a squash recipe that didn't sound like a dessert... most of them have a whole cup of sugar... sounds more like pie or a dessert to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was REALLY good. It was simple and filling. I skimped on the mayo and used brown sugar. I will make it again for sure. It would pair great with ham or take it to a pot luck. I used a few extra nuts/seeds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamma
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I loved it so much I am writing a review for first time and adding a picture!!! I used barbeque chips and added pine nuts which was sooo good I made a second batch and used Panko and small cubed ham . This is my new favorite this fall. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States