Butternut Squash and Pecan Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
If you take this to a pot luck dinner, you'll be overwhelmd by the requests for the recipe. I didn't have crackers so I used crushed potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Used panko crumbs, pecans and pumpkin seeds. I think you could use any nuts and seeds. I used two Tbl of dried onion flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamma
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I loved it so much I am writing a review for first time and adding a picture!!! I used barbeque chips and added pine nuts which was sooo good I made a second batch and used Panko and small cubed ham . This is my new favorite this fall. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used Splenda instead of sugar, egg whites instead of a whole egg, low fat mayonnaise and cheese to cut he calories and fat. It was delicious 157calories a serving and 10.4 gms of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Delicious! Loved this. It was great. I used 1 whole package of Ritz crackers and used a lot more butter 1/2 cup when drizzling over them. I also used a whole onion. The nuts on top are so different and unusual but taste yummy. Loved it and so did the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good dish, and not overly sweet; made as written. Other recipes like this call for 1/2 cup sugar or more versus 1/4 cup for this one. For the ‘1/2 cup cracker crumbs’, used 12 Ritz crackers. The nut topping, with sunflower seeds included, gives this a nice twist from the norm. While using the specified amount of butter, next time might reduce it slightly to say 3 tablespoons. A good choice for a Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner, especially if lots of sweet stuff is already in the planned food choices. Thank you emoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was REALLY good. It was simple and filling. I skimped on the mayo and used brown sugar. I will make it again for sure. It would pair great with ham or take it to a pot luck. I used a few extra nuts/seeds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is wonderful. I used coconut oil, sesame crackers, breadcrumbs and almonds on top because that is what I had and it still turned out great. I did precook the squash in the microwave to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dubois, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My husband and I both love this recipe. The mayo and onion make it different from the typical sweet squash casseroles, aand give it a velvety texture as well. I'm making it for the third time tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I enjoyed it. Substituted sliced almonds for the seeds/nuts because it's what I had. Measured the sugar a little lean. Think I'll be sure to use a sweet onion next time because the yellow onion was a little strong. I'll likely put the onion in the blender because the kids (7 and 4yrs) really liked their first bite, but I think the texture turned them off. I was so glad to find a squash recipe that didn't sound like a dessert... most of them have a whole cup of sugar... sounds more like pie or a dessert to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States