Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shyla Lane
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this exactly how the recipe wants you too, however I noticed like a handful of others that mine came out more watery then the original photo (perhaps too much water). However, although watery, it was still pretty tasty. I do want to try this again to see if I can get the texture down, and like others said I will add either an apple or applesauce to it. Definitely an easy soup to try if you've never made soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
So easy and delish!! I don't do much in the kitchen, but was definitely able to make this...and if IIII can make it, anybody can make it! I added some curry powder and an apple, left out the yogurt. Nice and easy paleo dish that I'll def serve for our next dinner party! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I changed the recipe a bit, by baking the squash in a 400C oven for 50 minutes. I also add a pinch of nutmeg for a bit more flavour. Great texture..nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is the version I made: 1. Chop: 1 peeled and cored apple 2celery stalks; 2 peeled carrots; 1 medium onion; 1-2 inches of peeled ginger. 2. Sauté all of the above with 1 heaping Tablespoon minced garlic in 2 T oil for about 10 minutes, or until soft. Set aside. 3. Put chunked sweet potatoes (or yams) and butternut squash in a large pan with about 2 1/4 c water and 2 1/4 c. chicken broth. 4. Once everything comes to a boil, add the sautéed mixture from before and let simmer until everything is pretty soft. 5. Add 1 t. of cinnamon and about 1/2 t. of nutmeg (or curry/cardamom), 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 t. of pepper BEFORE blending/pureeing it. 6. Serve with a dollop of light sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent! I sauteed the celery, carrots, onion, garlic and ginger first. After cooking, I mashed the mixture with a potato masher before using my immersion blender. It was so creamy, I did not use the yogurt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is one of my ultimate favorite soups in the Fall. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Vastly improved simply by roasting the squash, sweet potatoes and onions (along with a few garlic cloves) in the oven until soft. Then puree with chicken stock (not water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Did exactly what recipie said. Took a lot of time to prep and the end result was bland baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this. But I like spicy hot soup so I added a seeded and diced jalapeno to the puree. I would also recommend using chicken broth as some others suggested. Might also try cayenne pepper if you like spicy soup too. A Winter Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Too much Ginger. I would try this again but less Ginger and I added brown sugar which improved it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States