Butternut Squash Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was pretty good, and I think it has potential to be fabulous, but because I kept thinking of all the changes I wished I had made, I didn't enjoy this as much as I expected to. I love butternut squash, and was quite happy with the filling - it was light and had a nice subtle flavor, but I think the goat cheese should have been incorporated as part of the filling instead of the sauce. I wasn't too impressed with the sauce anyway, although I didn't hate it. My biggest dislike about it was using red onions - even after caramelizing them they still had quite a strong bite to them and it just didn't fit. A sweeter onion would have worked nicely. I also loved the idea of cooking the shells on a bed of spinach, but that kind of flopped for me - the spinach, of course, shrinks down so much after cooking that it was a little skimpy when served, and part of it was a little dry. This dish was still pretty tasty - I think my issues probably have more to do with personal preference. Next time I'm adding the goat cheese to the filling, baking the shells without the spinach and instead serving the shells on a nice plate of sauteed spinach, using a somewhat lighter sauce - maybe something with a little parmesan added - and topping with a little more goat cheese. I think as is, this was a 3 1/2-star recipe for me, but could easily be a 5-star. This one is well worth trying, but it just ended up being more of an inspiring meal for me as opposed to a satisfying one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was pretty good. I did make some changes though. I put the goat cheese in the filling and used parmesan for the sauce, I also chopped up the spinach and mixed it in with the filling. Next time I make this I'll probably make a lower fat version by not using as much butter, and using something other than cream, probably low fat or skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars, but did a lot of customizing. Reading the previous reviews was helpful. I used a yellow onion instead of a red, put goat cheese in both the filling and the sauce, sauteed the spinach separately rather than put it in the baking dish, and put garlic in the sauce as well as the filling. Season with sea salt, and you have a fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srhockeygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I thought this was good, hubby didn't like it at all. Like other reviewers, I cooked my spinach separately and wished I had cooked more. It really makes the dish. don't omit it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I forgot to put in the salt, and had to add it afterwards. That made this dish very good. It needed more onions, and I think they should have been chopped so they were in the mixture more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe is horrible. The recipe was easy enough to follow and it looked nice when completed, but it tasted just awful. If you need to find something to do with your butternut squash, stick with butternut squash soup or risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this with the commonly suggested modifications of a sweet yellow onion and adding goat cheese to the filling. I used a goat cheese with honey which was great. I also added some baby shrimp to the sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This needed more salt and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese, but really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was enjoyed by multi generations-I did change it up better to suit my taste and to decrease the fat content. I used skim milk instead of cream and used a whole goat cheese package(113g) instead. I also took the advice of another reviewer and sprinkled with parmesan before putting the cream/onion sauce over everything and then baking for 15 minutes or so.I also roasted the butternut squash(brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with about a Tbsp brown sugar.In the squash mash I used 5%light cream only.Pepper added to the squash mash too.Didn't use a food processor,just mashed everything in a bowl. My 20 yr old loved it as did my parents.A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
The sauce was very rich and the shell stuffed with butternut squash was a bit plain. Good but maybe better seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverOfDance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States