Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and everyone loved it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I didn't read the comments of others to first roast the squash until after I had it cubed. So I went with the original recipe, except I used butter instead of margarine. Also, I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted 1 tsp coriander, 1 Tbsp curry powder, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I also used only one (8 oz.) package cream cheese instead of 2 as the recipe called for. It was very tasty! Although I think next time I will try only 4 oz. cream cheese. This recipe is simple, forgiving, and can easily be tweeked and experimented with to suite personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This soup is crazy good! The second time that I made it I used a little less cream cheese, but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Like other reviewers, I used only 8 oz of cream cheese. Other than that small modification -- this recipe was absolutely perfect. It was sooooo delicious! As good or better than anything I've had in restaurants. 5 stars, for sure! I'm using this recipe when I want to impress someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was a very easy recipe. I brought it to work for a function and had to hand out the recipe to a few people as well. Listening to the other reviews, I cut the squash in half and put a little butter on it then baked it on a flat sheet with a little water in the bottom for an hour at 350 and it came out perfectly. I also halved the cream cheese as one package was plenty and it turnes out really creamy. Last change I made wasnt intentional. When I went shopping I forgot the broth, luckily I had some beef buillion at home and thought id give it a shot using that instead of chicken. I havent made the original so I dont know if it was an improvement or not but it was amazing. Will definitely make this again. The cayenne gave it just the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Favorite soup ever. So many ways to dress it up. For a more substantial meal, pour it over spaghetti Noddles and add bacon and parmesian...yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I've made this soup twice this season. Delicious fall flavor. I used organic chicken broth and only 1 8oz package cream cheese. It does take quiet a bit of time to peel and cut up this hard squash, I do think baking the squash would cut down on the prep time greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this soup Saturday. I didn't add any spices due to personal preference, just salt to taste. I used 4 cups chicken stock and one 8 oz package cream cheese. I blended it using my immersion blender. My husband and I just loved this soup! I think I will make a big batch to serve on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! It was DIVINE. I took the advice of other reviewers and used one package of cream cheese and baked the squash. It was very easy and tasted simply amazing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyjul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Use half as much cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States