Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Yum! Perfect creaminess and the cayenne gives it a nice little kick. I am not a spicy fan, so this is just perfect. I didn't have any cream cheese, so I used whole milk instead. I would imagine it would be even better with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We love this soup but I made several changes. 1)Used homemade chicken broth instead of bullion cubes. 2)Rubbed a sprinkle of dry oregano and parsley into it instead of marjoram. 3)Added a small sweet potato and a couple of small carrots. 4)Used just one package cream cheese. 5)Used a submersion blender right in the pot to blend instead of messing with regular blender, much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Pretty rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Rich and creamy and fairly easy to make. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very smooth, rich soup, I only used 1 pkg. of cream cheese and as others suggested I roasted the squash first and added a granny smith apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
As suggested, I roasted my squash first and used butter instead of margarine. I also switched the broth out for stock since I think it has way more flavor and cut the cream cheese in half to avoid it being too rich. Overall, small little changes to a FABULOUS RECIPE! Will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiedi Heaton

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Good recipe. Like others I only used half the amount of cream cheese, any more and you;d run the risk of this being squash-fondue. I'd also suggest being careful the water does not boil off and making sure there is enough liquids when you begin blending, or else it comes out too thick. I also doubled the amount of cayenne pepper, because I like the added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Just made this and love it! I read the reviews and made some minor adjustments. First, I made 3 times as much so I can freeze some for later. I also used veggie broth instead of chicken and added about 1/2 cup half and half to make it a creamier texture. Also added about a tablespoon of brown sugar. At first I thought it wouldn't be thick or creamy enough, until I put it in the blender, then it came out perfect! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Excellent, but only 4 stars since I made some changes: used chix broth instead of water and bullion, one package of cream cheese instead of 2, butter instead of margarine and then added some nutmeg, oregano and some cinnamon and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Baked squash in 350 oven 45 minutes prior to adding to onion and soup mixture. Did use more cayenne and real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States