Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Jeepers! So easy and so delicious! I used thyme instead of marjoram and didn't quite add as much cream cheese, but realy, it is a recipe I'll be sharing and making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Love this recipe as is and always get great compliments. Did try a different twist for the summer by omitting the marjoram, cayenne and cream cheese and adding a dollop of coconut oil and pinch of nutmeg. It was equally as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe is delicious and easy to make. It's a regular in the rotation at our house. I use oregano instead of marjoram (half of the recipe amount for marjoram), 1 bar of cream cheese and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Great recipe. I followed some of the changes and added my own and my boyfriend said it is his all time favorite soup and he doesn't even like butternut squash. First, I cut two butternut squash in half, put some EVOO and salt/pepper on them and cut side down roasted them at 375 for 45 min. Towards the end of the squash cooking time, I sautéed the onions in the butter with two cloves of garlic until translucent. I used only two chicken bouillon cubes, added the rest of the ingredients to the pot, including the scooped out squash. Oh and I almost forgot, I added one chopped up and peeled apple to the pot. Added that all to a blender and since I only had half a block of cream cheese, used that. Tasted PHENOMENAL. I topped each bowl with some fresh steamed corn since I had a bunch and wanted to use it and some chopped chives. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This soup is amazing; a common dinner request from friends. I always add a couple of sweet potatoes, which makes the soup a bit sweeter and the texture more creamy. I also season with garlic powder and sea salt, and use real butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
So delicious! I left out the cayenne pepper though and it was perfectly spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this many times now. My husband calls it restaurant quality and always asks me to make it when we have company he wants to impress, LOL. More importantly, even my mother-in-law was impressed! I do only use 1/4 of the cream cheese called for though, otherwise it is WAY to cream-cheesy. Here's what I do: Cut squash in half and bake for 1 hour at 350 (cut side down on tin foil). Let cool while sauteeing onions and some garlic. Add one peeled/cored apple. Scoop out squash into pot. Depending on how ripe/soft the squash is, it's sometimes easier to cut the squash into strips and slice the skin off. I actually do this more often than not. Add broth. Add seasoning (marjoram, nutmeg, cinnamon, dash of cloves, S&P, garlic powder). Simmer at least 20 mins. Can let cool before pureeing then puree with cream cheese and reheat before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! It's one of our family favorites. I made a couple of changes - I bake the squash at 350 for 35 minutes and I add a pinch of nutmeg. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I baked and seasoned the squash prior. More work, but was worth the flavour payoff. Definitely do not use all the cream cheese. This soup was delicious however after 2 days it got that grainy texture and I had to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Loved it but definitely made some tweaks. ..if you want a bit of a healthy twist on it......try substituting coconut oil for butter. Also the recommendations of cinnamon, garlic and nutmeg is a must! I also left out the potato as I like my squash soup to have mostly that squash flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States