Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
First time ever trying butternut squash and wow did this recipe deliver. The little bit of cayenne really hit the spot, even my 8 year old boy loved it.. we had it with garlic bread. The next day,(today)off the bus, the kids ate it cold and used it as a kind of dip for a sandwich before church. Definitely this recipe will now be on regular rotation. One extra is that we roasted the squash in the oven beforehand, if you do this be prepared for extra time for it. We also doubled the cream cheese, but since we aren't an exact measurement family we probably used more squash also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Evans Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I was not sure I would like this but decided to try it since I had a butternut squash and only 1 8oz cream cheese -low fat. I roasted the squash by halving it and baking face down for about 40 min at 375. It was almost soft when I took it out but was able to peel and cube. I then continued and cooked it on stove for about 20 more min to blend flavors. Then I used my vitamix and put in cream cheese and soup. From there I poured it back in the pot and It sat on my stove most of the afternoon. I just reheated for dinner....yum! Better than I thought! I also used quart of chicken broth instead of water and chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My husband and I love, love this soup and he hates squash! It tastes more like a light and creamy mushroom soup. I only used 1 package of reduced fat cream cheese and I think it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Everyone in my family loved this soup! It was creamy and delicious...the flavor and consistency reminded me of a broccoli cheddar soup. I tried a separate recipe version as well and the only thing I liked better about that version was the addition of chopped carrots before I blended it using an immersion blender. When I make this recipe again, I'll experiment with adding in some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Mills, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was really yummy. I used italian seasoning instead of marjoram. I halfed it. I used the cream cheese, which gave it a richness. (The cream cheese was frozen and I just defrosted it in the microwave on defrost). I did yucky rolls baked in bread pan and cut into slices and then buttered, seasoned with parmesan, rosmary, thyme, and light garlic salt, and broiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made it to original recipe - but roasted the squash for 45 minutes. Used 2 low fat cream cheese packages. You could hear the "mmmmmmm"s around the table during our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This soup was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made this for my family the other day, however I only had acorn squash on hand and it worked just as well. I used half the cream cheese to start and it was perfect. My whole family enjoyed the soup. I may add some more Cayenne pepper next time for a little more of a kick. I will be trying a few other ideas that the previous posters shared as well. All in all...it is on my "cook again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Love this soup! Its a fall and winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I used potatoes instead of cream cheese (don't like cream cheese), then purée the soup, it was great without the processed cream cheese. Didn't change anything else. I am giving it three stars because I tweaked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States