Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Enjoyed by all! Only sub was veg broth instead of chicken, used one pkg of cream cheese, wonderful, thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have made this recipe dozens of times for soup suppers at church during Lent, and it is my most requested recipe. I am a vegetarian, so used a Kosher "chicken" cube which contains neither meat nor gluten. (I've never asked what IS in it!) I only use half the cream cheese and have also found roasting the squash beforehand does make life a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyAnneJT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Loved this! It has become a household favorite. All I changed was halving the cream cheese as others suggested and because i am a vegetarian , I used vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Fantastic as written but also excellent with half the cream cheese. As a variation, I make mine with shallots instead of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was the first time I made squash soup, and I love butternut squash but this was very bland. The texture was nice but just not a good taste. No one in my family liked it. Maybe we just don't like squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Huber
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was a perfect soup for a cold snowy day. I added garlic to the sautéed onions, a pinch of hot pepper flakes, and half the cream cheese. I used an immersion blender to get it nice and creamy. Then I topped each serving with a tablespoon of crumbled bacon. It was delicious and beautiful. This is a recipe I'll definitely keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is just plain fantastic. To address complaints of grittiness, I don't know if I read it here or elsewhere online, but I'd recently learned it can have something to do with the age of the squash. I myself have made this three times now, and one attempt was perfectly smooth with almost no texture outside of smooth and creamy. The other two did have a bit of grittiness. I couldn't figure out for the life of me what was different, so I researched and learned the younger the squash, the more tender. (No different than zucchini.) So they're more likely to blend down smoother. Either way the flavor is PHENOMENAL. I've also used this as a base for a pasta sauce with chicken apple sausage, with great success. So happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LogicalKitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
LOVE it! I took the advice of baking the squash and using 1/2 of the cream cheese. It turned out very yummy! I can't wait to make this easy impressive dish again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States