Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Whooooaaaa way too much cream cheese. Thank goodness I read the reviews first and didn't use the amount in the recipe. Meh, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I thought it was delicious but the rest of the family are not big on squash .. I used chicken broth instead of the water and bullion cubes and left out the margoram .. will save the recipe and maybe try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Because this soup is rather "bland" in the sense that there isn't a mix of vegetables or beans in it, I choose to serve it over white rice. It is an easy way of making it a hearty soup :) I have had butternut squash soup before that was MUCH sweeter and better tasting. While the consistency was great, the taste wasn't on par for me. I added brown sugar and cinnamon to help compensate for the lack of taste but it still wasn't the same...still searching for a good butternut squash soup recipe :( Oh, and one pack of cream cheese is plenty! Richness was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meronica
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Added one large carrot, 4 stalks of celery and used fat free cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good! Gave it 4 stars because I followed all the suggested revisions: only 1/2 block of cream cheese (2 blocks would have totally ruined it), added a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg and garlic powder. Served topped with pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe was not bad, but it's probably not my most favorite soup. I added everything that was already stated except the marjoram and cayenne pepper simply because I didn't have it. I used just regular pepper instead. I also didn't use cream cheese and instead using corn starch to thicken the soup. I also used a mixture of papaya and squash instead of just squash because I was short. I also added just a bit of heavy cream. Overall the soup wasn't bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Jeepers! So easy and so delicious! I used thyme instead of marjoram and didn't quite add as much cream cheese, but realy, it is a recipe I'll be sharing and making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Love this recipe as is and always get great compliments. Did try a different twist for the summer by omitting the marjoram, cayenne and cream cheese and adding a dollop of coconut oil and pinch of nutmeg. It was equally as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe is delicious and easy to make. It's a regular in the rotation at our house. I use oregano instead of marjoram (half of the recipe amount for marjoram), 1 bar of cream cheese and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States