Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious and super easy to make! Only a few modifications - I used an acorn squash instead of a butternut (it's what I had on hand), and roasted it in a 350 oven - cut side down - on a baking sheet for 45 minutes. I increased the cayenne pepper to 1/4 t. and added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I also followed others suggestions. I baked the squash first. Then I only used one 8 oz cream cheese. It was still very rich and creamy. I have a hard time with my blender so I used a hand emulsifier to make it creamy. Watch out for splashing. This soup was awesome eaten right after it's made. But as someone said, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
My husband rushed in from work after being attacked by a tenant's dog, sitting for an hour in traffic and getting sideswiped by someone who took off before my husband could get his license plate number. The noise level in the house was unbelievable, as I had my neighbor's 4 kids over when she had an emergency. My panicked husband still had to head out for another 2 appointments, and needed to find new pants as the dog had shredded the ones he was wearing. Then I gave him this soup. He stopped moving when he tasted it. He sat down. He actually smiled. He had three bowls. I fed it to the kids and for fifteen minutes there were no sounds but spoons clanking and lots of slurping. This is going in my cookbook as 5-Minute Magic Opium Soup. It's that good. Oh, also, I used frozen cubed squash and only about 4 oz cream cheese, powder consomme instead of bouillon, and used an immersion blender. Tasted like magic and took about 5 minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I followed some advice and halved the squash, brushed with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic and baked at 400 for 30 minutes. Much easier to peel...We like things on the spicy side, so I doubled the cayenne pepper, added a dash of nutmeg, a tsp of brown sugar, 2 chopped potatoes, and a chopped apple; boiled for 20 minutes then added the squash and boiled for another 10 minutes. The cream cheese added a wonderful flavor. As in previous reviews, I only used one 8 oz brick of cream cheese. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was terrible. I have made butternut squash soup before and wanted to try another recipe. The amount of cream cheese seemed like too much so I only put in about 6 oz of cream cheese. I have to agree with other reviews that the cream cheese ruins this. It adds a tang that butternut squash can't compete with. Might have been better with just a splash of cream or half and half. It was also too thick. Cannot recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I added an apple and potato - it was great. Love the philly cream cheese idea - never tried that before but will again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshineSeebeeger
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I roasted the squash with a little salt and pepper 45 min at 350 for easier peeling, used half the cream cheese, 1/4 tsp cayenne. Added a little salt and a dash of sugar and cinnamon (I like just a hint of sweet with a little kick). So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaC
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was very easy to prepare after I fought the squash to cut into chunks. I did not have marjoram so I did not use it & I used crushed jalapeño instead of cayenne pepper. I thought it was delicious, but very rich. Next time I'll use less cream cheese. This was my first time ever to cook butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
DEELISH! Followed advice from others, halved the cream cheese, bumped up the red pepper, added a little garlic powder and ground ginger. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Loved the taste but I changed it up the recipe a little. I used butternut and acorn squash. But kept everything else the same. Soooo good. Oh and also forgot to put in the blender tried mixer but next time I will use the blender. But still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States