Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
To say that this is incredible is an understatement. Super easy, inexpensive and a taste that will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I had to convert this to metric (because I am in Italy) and I think I added too much water, so it was a bit liquidy. I halved the cream cheese as the recipe suggested as an option, and it was great. Follow th recipe exactly, because all the other suggestions are just personal preferences and won't really improve anything. It was amazing! Amazing! My husband, who doesn't really like to eat any of the American soup I make even gave his approval. So In all, I don't think the proportions I used were dead on, but I can't wait to try again! Perfectly toasty for a cold winter night. I also may add some broccoli next time just to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good with cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenny
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Just finished the taste test. Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I baked the squash in the oven first and only used half the cream cheese, same as suggested in other reviews. Turned out awesome. Used a food processor the first time and an immersion blender the second... Blender was much easier and made it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I combined 2 Butternut Squash Soup recipes. Roasted 2 medium squash with 2 cloves garlic for about 45 minutes. Meanwhile sautéed small onion, a carrot, a stalk celery in about 2 TB butter. Add salt. Let that sauté on low for about 15 minutes. Peeled and sliced thinly a potato and an apple. Added to veggies. Scooped the squash into pot along with roasted garlic. Then added chicken stock to cover plus about 1/2 cup apple cider. Brought to a boil and simmered for about 1/2 hour. Added little nutmeg and cayenne. Added about 2 ounces lite cream cheese. Stirred till melted. Used immersion blender till smooth and creamy. Correct seasonings. I ended up adding about another 1/3 cup apple cider and little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We loved this soup!! So creamy and so easy to make. The hardest part was peeling all the acorns. I took like the recipe said and cooked the squash for 20 min, but I put a lid on it even though the recipe didn't say to do so. I would serve it at a dinner party As an appetizer it was so good. We dipped homemade bread in it and my husband ate 3 bowl fulls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
very yummy! My spice adverse family didn't like the pepper though. Next time I'll try it without it. Also I only used 1 package of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This soup was so creamy, yet not so rich that you couldn't finish the bowl. My husband loved it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corie
Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coleyski
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This soup is by far the best butternut squash soup I've had in my life! I'm amazed I even made this! It's probably the best soup Ice ever had, even my husband agrees!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States