Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Fantastic as written but also excellent with half the cream cheese. As a variation, I make mine with shallots instead of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was the first time I made squash soup, and I love butternut squash but this was very bland. The texture was nice but just not a good taste. No one in my family liked it. Maybe we just don't like squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Huber
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was a perfect soup for a cold snowy day. I added garlic to the sautéed onions, a pinch of hot pepper flakes, and half the cream cheese. I used an immersion blender to get it nice and creamy. Then I topped each serving with a tablespoon of crumbled bacon. It was delicious and beautiful. This is a recipe I'll definitely keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is just plain fantastic. To address complaints of grittiness, I don't know if I read it here or elsewhere online, but I'd recently learned it can have something to do with the age of the squash. I myself have made this three times now, and one attempt was perfectly smooth with almost no texture outside of smooth and creamy. The other two did have a bit of grittiness. I couldn't figure out for the life of me what was different, so I researched and learned the younger the squash, the more tender. (No different than zucchini.) So they're more likely to blend down smoother. Either way the flavor is PHENOMENAL. I've also used this as a base for a pasta sauce with chicken apple sausage, with great success. So happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LogicalKitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
LOVE it! I took the advice of baking the squash and using 1/2 of the cream cheese. It turned out very yummy! I can't wait to make this easy impressive dish again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
WONDERFUL---Easy to make, and the flavor is WOW. I followed the recipe exactly. There are suggestions here that one can take or leave. I am def. going to try roasting the squash for even more flavor, sure maybe less cream cheese is fine. I am thinking adding some shredded carrot next time and I believe this would be fantastic adding some crab too. That's whats great about this kind of recipe. Good as is, or have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I loved this soup, but like the others, I also roasted the squash in the oven for about 40 minutes at 350 to make it sweeter. I also added nutmeg and cut the cream cheese in half. Oh, and based on personal taste, I cut out the cayenne pepper completely. It's delish. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I love this easy recipe. I make it often and yes roast the squash first. I also half the cream cheese and use broth, Sometimes I add an acid like cooking sherry or a couple tablespoons balsamic vinegar. The original recipe was perfect the way it is though, I just like to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States