Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Like other reviewers, I used only 8 oz of cream cheese. Other than that small modification -- this recipe was absolutely perfect. It was sooooo delicious! As good or better than anything I've had in restaurants. 5 stars, for sure! I'm using this recipe when I want to impress someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was a very easy recipe. I brought it to work for a function and had to hand out the recipe to a few people as well. Listening to the other reviews, I cut the squash in half and put a little butter on it then baked it on a flat sheet with a little water in the bottom for an hour at 350 and it came out perfectly. I also halved the cream cheese as one package was plenty and it turnes out really creamy. Last change I made wasnt intentional. When I went shopping I forgot the broth, luckily I had some beef buillion at home and thought id give it a shot using that instead of chicken. I havent made the original so I dont know if it was an improvement or not but it was amazing. Will definitely make this again. The cayenne gave it just the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Favorite soup ever. So many ways to dress it up. For a more substantial meal, pour it over spaghetti Noddles and add bacon and parmesian...yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I've made this soup twice this season. Delicious fall flavor. I used organic chicken broth and only 1 8oz package cream cheese. It does take quiet a bit of time to peel and cut up this hard squash, I do think baking the squash would cut down on the prep time greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this soup Saturday. I didn't add any spices due to personal preference, just salt to taste. I used 4 cups chicken stock and one 8 oz package cream cheese. I blended it using my immersion blender. My husband and I just loved this soup! I think I will make a big batch to serve on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! It was DIVINE. I took the advice of other reviewers and used one package of cream cheese and baked the squash. It was very easy and tasted simply amazing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyjul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Use half as much cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This soup was delicious. I chopped each butternut squash into large chunks, coated with a little bit of olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. Roasted at 375F for about 1.5 hours until the squash had caramelized and became very soft. The squash was so sweet and almost buttery when it came out of the oven - so good! Sauteed the onion and 1/2 of a cortland apple and then added that, the butternut squash and the stock to the blender in batches and pureed until smooth. Heated it gently in the stock pot with 4 ounces of neufetchel (1/3 less fat) cream cheese. Added a little more cayenne than the recipe called for and adjusted salt & pepper to taste. Some things I may try when reheating leftovers: Add just a dash of nutmeg and/or cinnamon. Adding just a bit of very finely minced fresh sage from the garden. Saved the seeds from the squash and may make some spicy toasted seeds and top the soup with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cann Lydem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe was great but I think it calls for WAY too much cream cheese. I started adding it and it was really thick so I stopped. I ended up with about 3/4 of one container of cream cheese and it called for two. I think it would have been way too rich thick with all of that cream cheese. I also used butter because margarine is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
So simple and so yummy! Didn't add the cayenne or marjoram but who cares? My husband wants it again this weekend. I also threw in 1/2 cup salsa from my garden before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States