Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this many times now. My husband calls it restaurant quality and always asks me to make it when we have company he wants to impress, LOL. More importantly, even my mother-in-law was impressed! I do only use 1/4 of the cream cheese called for though, otherwise it is WAY to cream-cheesy. Here's what I do: Cut squash in half and bake for 1 hour at 350 (cut side down on tin foil). Let cool while sauteeing onions and some garlic. Add one peeled/cored apple. Scoop out squash into pot. Depending on how ripe/soft the squash is, it's sometimes easier to cut the squash into strips and slice the skin off. I actually do this more often than not. Add broth. Add seasoning (marjoram, nutmeg, cinnamon, dash of cloves, S&P, garlic powder). Simmer at least 20 mins. Can let cool before pureeing then puree with cream cheese and reheat before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! It's one of our family favorites. I made a couple of changes - I bake the squash at 350 for 35 minutes and I add a pinch of nutmeg. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I baked and seasoned the squash prior. More work, but was worth the flavour payoff. Definitely do not use all the cream cheese. This soup was delicious however after 2 days it got that grainy texture and I had to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Loved it but definitely made some tweaks. ..if you want a bit of a healthy twist on it......try substituting coconut oil for butter. Also the recommendations of cinnamon, garlic and nutmeg is a must! I also left out the potato as I like my squash soup to have mostly that squash flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is delicious! I do not normally like squash but love this soup. Fantastic! Used butter, chicken stock, less cream cheese (only 4 oz.), and baked the squash. Easy. Best soup recipe I have. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is delicious! I made it exactly as the recipe says and it is perfect. The richness and taste are just want I was looking for so my whole family can enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Delicious good flavor however we preferred only 6oz cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Quick and tasty. I sauteed the cubed squash for about 5 minutes (after the onions were soft). Added a bay leaf with other seasonings. Used half and half and about 4 oz. cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is one of my favorite! Rich & creamy meal. Every time I make this to share I preprint the recipe because I know people are going to ask for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This soup was delicious!! I used frozen precooked squash because I didn't have time to roast the squash myself, but it still turned out amazing. I also threw in some pine nuts and dried cranberries right before serving to add a color pop and a little bit of a mix into the flavor. Got great reviews from my guests. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States