Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
My favorite soup by far! Couple of notes: you can use oregano if you don't have marjoram. One block of cream cheese is plenty. I'm going to sprinkle bacon and sour cream on top next time. Should go together so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Lynn Snader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Excellent, hearty soup! I only had 1/2 of a squash, so I added two carrots and one potato, and used just one packet of cream cheese. The cayenne pepper added just enough kick to the soup, but don't add more than the recommended amount. This is so easy to make and even my 89 & 86 year old parents, and their 88 yr old friend, loved it! I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I've made this many times and have even prepared this for guests. Everyone loves it. I use cumin to flavor the soup and cut the cream cheese way back - about 1/2 a package to the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Well this is smelling delish. Roasting the squash cut side down 45 as suggested by other reviewers. I will only add half the cream cheese I'm using Neufchâtel because it's less fattening and adding lots of garlic to my onions while Sautéing. Will keep seasonings the same, maybe a little extra cayenne we like a little spice and a Granny Smith apple cooked w the onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is a great recipe. I only add about 1/3 of cream cheese, a dash of heavy cream, 1 celery stick and about 5 baby carrots. If yiu don't have marjoram, a sprinke of oregano or basil, a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Great recipe! Best one I've found for this soup. I agree with other reviews....I used half the cream cheese and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I liked it, it was good and fairly easy to make. My only complaint is that it tasted like potato soup to me but I love potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Enjoyed by all! Only sub was veg broth instead of chicken, used one pkg of cream cheese, wonderful, thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have made this recipe dozens of times for soup suppers at church during Lent, and it is my most requested recipe. I am a vegetarian, so used a Kosher "chicken" cube which contains neither meat nor gluten. (I've never asked what IS in it!) I only use half the cream cheese and have also found roasting the squash beforehand does make life a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyAnneJT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States