Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I combined 2 Butternut Squash Soup recipes. Roasted 2 medium squash with 2 cloves garlic for about 45 minutes. Meanwhile sautéed small onion, a carrot, a stalk celery in about 2 TB butter. Add salt. Let that sauté on low for about 15 minutes. Peeled and sliced thinly a potato and an apple. Added to veggies. Scooped the squash into pot along with roasted garlic. Then added chicken stock to cover plus about 1/2 cup apple cider. Brought to a boil and simmered for about 1/2 hour. Added little nutmeg and cayenne. Added about 2 ounces lite cream cheese. Stirred till melted. Used immersion blender till smooth and creamy. Correct seasonings. I ended up adding about another 1/3 cup apple cider and little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We loved this soup!! So creamy and so easy to make. The hardest part was peeling all the acorns. I took like the recipe said and cooked the squash for 20 min, but I put a lid on it even though the recipe didn't say to do so. I would serve it at a dinner party As an appetizer it was so good. We dipped homemade bread in it and my husband ate 3 bowl fulls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
very yummy! My spice adverse family didn't like the pepper though. Next time I'll try it without it. Also I only used 1 package of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This soup was so creamy, yet not so rich that you couldn't finish the bowl. My husband loved it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corie
Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coleyski
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This soup is by far the best butternut squash soup I've had in my life! I'm amazed I even made this! It's probably the best soup Ice ever had, even my husband agrees!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Fabulous!! Everyone loved it. I'm shopping now and making a lot ! I used the tweaked version. Super easy and a huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori J Passafiume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
TERRIFIC even for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Best soup I've ever made! Used half the cream cheese, but plenty rich. Just called my mother & told her she must make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Steve GRUNTED alot eating this soup. Make it again and again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is my go to fall soup recipie! It's so easy! I used 3 cups of low sodium chicken broth instead of water/bouilons. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States