Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a real keeper. I too used real butter (unsalted due to the bouillon.) I also only used one block of cream cheese. I finished it off with toasted pine nuts. Delicious! And so easy. Definitely better and quicker to roast the squash and scoop it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I don't know...it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Terrific, though that's way too much cream cheese. Using one package is fine. Also I'm good with two or three bouillon cubes instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! Very filling and wonderful with some crusty bread. I'm usually not a fan of spicy foods, but this had just the right kick to it. It's so easy also... can't really mess this one up. It also saves wonderfully in the freezer for easy reheating later. Only change I made was to reduce the cream cheese to only 8oz... the other 8oz definitely aren't needed. Love love love this! Several people asked me for the recipe! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Did not like. Maybe a lot less cream cheese would be better but don't want to waste my time trying. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have to admit I did what a few people suggested and put the apple cider and granny smith apple in this recipe that was the only thing I changed. And it was absolutely horrible to sour and the flavors did not blend at all together. I was very disappointed in this soup. I wish I hadn't have wasted the Delicious 2 butternut squash on this recipe, I'm sorry but this gets no stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is good, but I think it calls for too much cream cheese. When I was in the final stages of prep, I was thinking, wow, I LOVE creamy things - I mean I make my morning coffee as a heavy whip misto - but I thought I'd start small with half the amount of cream cheese - and it was still very heavy. When I make again, I think I will do with 1/4 the amount. I have to imagine that this is a typo, because I feel like this recipe is for butternut squash flavored cream cheese. Other than this - the recipe is quite fantastic! I used real butter, add some garlic and extra cayenne, and also added salt as I use homemade stock that does not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
OH wow, this is a super yummy recipe. Followed the full recipe, put in all the cream cheese. Very creamy and delicious. But I think next time I can do with just half of the cream cheese or maybe even just a quarter. Try the recipe! It's definitely worthy of all these positive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great Recipe! Thank you so much! This was easy, quick and delicious. Like so many others, I did alter the recipe some based on the many reviews I read. The alterations I made that I would do again: Add butter instead of margarine, buy pre pealed and precut fresh squash then boil in store bought chicken broth, add cinnamon, nutmeg about 1/8 cup of fresh parsley and doubled the cayenne for a little extra kick! Flavor was amazing! Didt not need ANY salt.. love that! What I would do different... I had already altered the cream cheese down to 1/2 of one pack. If I had to do it again, I would cut it down to 1/4 pack or none. I recommend blending everything and trying it without the cream cheese and perhaps adding it to taste. You may end up with two packs if that is your preference, or you may think 1/2 a pack is perfect, or none at all may suit you. Just give yourself the chance to make the choice before going all in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Takes a bit of time to cook, but it tastes awesome. My boyfriend, who says he hates squash, thought it was the best soup I've ever made. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States