Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I always use this as a base recipe, turns out fantastic every time! In addition to kick it up a little, I add: 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp nutmeg 1/2 tsp ginger 1/4 tsp all spice 1/4 c maple syrup Then I substitute a large apple for the onion. Only because I don't like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've made this recipe several times, usually following the review of SLJ6. This time I added 1/2 tsp ginger and 1 tsp cinnamon. My fav recipe for butternut squash soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is actually a recipe from Betty Crocker. I have made it several times once I discovered it on that site. I love the soup! I am down to making it without measuring anything. The Betty Crocker version you put it in a slow cooker on low for 6-8 hours. Blend everything then add the cream cheese on high for about 30 mins. I personally believe that it is better slow cooked. I have also make it with an apple cinnamon version. I boil 1 apple and a cinnamon stick with the broth from the soup for about 30 mins, blend and then add. Gives it a totally different experience! Sometimes I add cooked ground sausage and peppers in the middle to again add a different taste and it actually goes well with the soup! Women tend to love this soup, men not as much :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Hi All, just a note to let you know that I bought my butternut squash at Harris Teeter all cut and peeled in a fresh plastic box, 32 oz which is what most recipes call for and it made this recipe a snap. Soup was wonderful and all I added was a 1/2 teas of ginger and a smidge of nutmeg. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I tried this last night and have to say like many others, I did add/change it. First, I cut out half the cream cheese (I'm not sure how I could it eat with two!) I also did not cook it the way it said to start. I cut thick slices of the squash and baked them with a little EV olive oil and sprinkled with garlic, cinnamon and cayenne. I used butter and not margarine (next I won't use so much either). Then I added low sodium chicken broth (about 3 cups but I should have added more because it felt a little thick). I think it depends in the size of the squash but mine was from the garden and huge! I used it all. Then I realized I didn't have marjoram so I just threw in whatever sounded good. More cayenne, cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg and ginger and black pepper. The only other thing that I would do is chop the onions finer or blend them with the squash. It doesn't bother me but I know my mother wouldn't like onion chunks. Overall, this was so good and my first attempt was a hit with the hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Turned out grainy and tasted mostly like cream cheese. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and everyone loved it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I didn't read the comments of others to first roast the squash until after I had it cubed. So I went with the original recipe, except I used butter instead of margarine. Also, I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted 1 tsp coriander, 1 Tbsp curry powder, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I also used only one (8 oz.) package cream cheese instead of 2 as the recipe called for. It was very tasty! Although I think next time I will try only 4 oz. cream cheese. This recipe is simple, forgiving, and can easily be tweeked and experimented with to suite personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This soup is crazy good! The second time that I made it I used a little less cream cheese, but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Like other reviewers, I used only 8 oz of cream cheese. Other than that small modification -- this recipe was absolutely perfect. It was sooooo delicious! As good or better than anything I've had in restaurants. 5 stars, for sure! I'm using this recipe when I want to impress someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States