Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I will give 5 stars because this recipe is always my base but I don't follow it word for word, as is 3 stars. As you will see with many of the other reviews. This morning I decided I will never 'cut up' butternut raw again because my hand is still sore. My husband got a 4.5 pound squash - 2 pounds is about six cups. Cook in the oven before... Taste better and so much easier. You must LOVE cream cheese to add that much. You can also substitute heavy cream, milk, potatoes, or a milk/flour/butter thickener. This soup is simple and tasty - great for a cold Wisconsin winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This soup is DELICIOUS! My family loved it. The cayenne pepper gives it a great zing. It's really creamy and filling, and leftovers reheat well in the microwave. I didn't change the recipe, but I AM a shortcut taker... I used three 12-oz boxes of frozen butternut squash--it's already cooked and pureed, so I heated it in the pot with the other ingredients until the squash wasn't frozen anymore then brought it to a boil, and eliminated the additional 20 minutes cooking time. I tossed the cream cheese in and blended with an immersion blender right in the cooking pot so I didn't have to transfer the soup back and forth. The flavor is wonderful. Just for variety I'm going to add cilantro and curry next time as it seems it would make a good Indian-style soup as well. I'm sure there are many possible variations, but try this soup as-is first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made it for Christmas dinner and it was raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My hubby hates trying new things & definitely hates butternut squash, but he LOVED this soup. I took the suggestions of others & roasted the squash in olive oil, sea salt & black pepper. I added chicken bouillon granules, a touch of nutmeg, dash of onion powder, & chipotle seasoning. I also added more cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I am going to make it for the weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a real keeper. I too used real butter (unsalted due to the bouillon.) I also only used one block of cream cheese. I finished it off with toasted pine nuts. Delicious! And so easy. Definitely better and quicker to roast the squash and scoop it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I don't know...it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Terrific, though that's way too much cream cheese. Using one package is fine. Also I'm good with two or three bouillon cubes instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! Very filling and wonderful with some crusty bread. I'm usually not a fan of spicy foods, but this had just the right kick to it. It's so easy also... can't really mess this one up. It also saves wonderfully in the freezer for easy reheating later. Only change I made was to reduce the cream cheese to only 8oz... the other 8oz definitely aren't needed. Love love love this! Several people asked me for the recipe! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Did not like. Maybe a lot less cream cheese would be better but don't want to waste my time trying. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States