Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Outstanding. My inlaws rave about this soup - and I make it just for myself. The only hard part is cutting up the squash (I peel it first too); after that it's very easy. And soooo delicious. I've always made it with just the 8 oz. cream cheese, and it would still be delicious with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
This was a great recipe. I left out the cream cheese though, and added some garlic, ginger and a little bit of curry powder instead. It was extremely creamy without having to add anything to make it creamy. Very healthy and tasty!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I used a mixture of acorn and butternut squash. It was wonderful! I only used 8 oz. of cream cheese and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This one of the very best squash soup recipes I've tried. I did cut down on the cream cheese and only used 8oz's which I feel was just right. I even served it one time using small pumpkins as dishes, which went over very big with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This soup is fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very creamy and easy to make. I did not add the 16 ounces of cream cheese. I only added 4 ounces and it was still very creamy!!!! My 6 year old wanted seconds!!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
I precooked the squash and the onion in the oven, I only used 10 ounces of the cream cheese, and I used two cans of chicken broth instead of the bouillon cubes and water. I used a 'stick blender' to puree the soup. I think that this soup is great eventhough I have never had squash soup before. Thank you, Mary, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
A couple of variations that I did with this recipe: It takes a little longer, but the night before I cooked the soup, I roasted the squash in the oven until they are soft. This makes it easier to get the "meat" out when you're ready to make the soup and it gives the soup a fabulous nutty roasted flavor. Also, instead of adding cream cheese, I added heavy cream, it makes the soup much lighter, and If you have family members that are slightly lactose intolerant, they can usually handle the heavy cream over the cream cheese (or add Lactaid, which works very well). But this soup recipe was very easy to make and very delicious. It is my new favorite soup. Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
Even if you are leary about eating "squash soup" you'll love this. It is very rich with 8 oz. of cream cheese; I can't imagine it with twice that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
I don't like butternut squash all that much, but this soup was amazingly rich and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Very delicouis! We loved it. Was a little too rich for my 9 yr old. I highly recommend 6-8 oz cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States