Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Ok...I have to say that I tweeked this recipe big time. I used this recipe in addition to another butternut squash soup recipe. First of all, I used 2 squashes..cleaned and cut into 8 pieces..roasted them with olive oil, salt,and pepper and smashed garlic cloves for an hour in the oven..350. I then removed them from their skins..sauteed the onion and added 1 c. apple cider in addition to the chicken broth...and one peeled, chopped granny smith apple...and nutmeg, salt and pepper. I also have to say that I didnt use any of the cream cheese...the puree was perfect without..but I think I will add a small amount of 1/2 and 1/2 for a little richness. Excellent soup...thick, creamy and rewarding even if you dont use the cream cheese...way to calorie concious. Puree' in small batches in the food processor...be careful if its too hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2092 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I served this soup for an Oktober Fest party and everyone loved it! I roasted the sqaush on a sheet in the oven (cut in half and roast cut side down) for about 45 minutes at 375 because roasting brings out the flavor better. (Plus it is a lot easier than cutting an uncooked squash). I used butter because I never use margarine, and I added slightly more cayenne than called for. Everyone wanted the recipe. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
A quick and easy way to prepare this dish is to cut the squash in half, place each half face down on a plate, and microwave for about 8 to 10 minutes. Then just scoop out the prepared squash and puree with the rest of the ingredients. Half the cream cheese was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1012 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This recipe is great ALTHOUGH here are some hints to make it better. Bake the squash in the oven first for about 40 minutes 350 so it is easier to work with, and use only one package of cream cheese and use real butter of course.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
715 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Real easy but loved by all. For the record, six cups of squash is about 2lb.of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
655 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
In a word, INCRERDIBLE. I made this the first time, with home made chicken stock (no salt, better flavour) and only one pkg cream cheese, 3x the amount of cayenne (we like a little spice). It was to DIE for. Used a hand blender to puree, turned out perfect, can't understand how anybody could have grainy soup, unless squash is 'old', which can happen this time of year...we found 1 pkg cream cheese was plenty with the proportion of stock listed. The next day, was even BETTER, mellowed out, but seemed thicker-so we used (skim) milk to thin own a tad. Next time I made it, I doubled the stock, and added 2 pkg cream cheese. Still outstanding!! For me, a nice bowl of this and fresh sourdough bread is a comforting meal. Used light cream cheese, worked out just fine. Not to mentiuon this was SOOOOOOOOO easy!!!!! We will make this again...and again...and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
My friends and family realy enjoyes this soup. I did make a few alterations however. I left out the cream cheese ( greatly reduces fat content), added in one pear ( or an apple can be used), and one potato ( a weight watchers trick, gives soup the illusion of being more creamy). I also broke up some spagettini into one inch bits and added this during the last 8 minutes of cooking. Gives a different texture, really great soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This soup is rich and delicious even using only 4 ounces of cream cheese. I made a big pot of it and froze it in quart zip-lock bags BEFORE adding the cream cheese. When I defrost it, I add the cream cheese just before serving. It is a huge hit with my 13-yr old daughter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yana
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made this recipe for a dinner party and it was absolutely fabulous. I roasted the squash, and used real butter and chicken stock. I also added a few tablespoons of dry sherry and zested some fresh ginger - both added a some really great flavors to the dish. I suggest cutting the cream cheese in half as some other reviewers have stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
some of you changed it so much..just add your own ! You rated your own soup in the end. Sorry Mary, your soup was fine as is, and if I changed anything, I guess I would add my own version undermy own title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States