Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Outstanding. My inlaws rave about this soup - and I make it just for myself. The only hard part is cutting up the squash (I peel it first too); after that it's very easy. And soooo delicious. I've always made it with just the 8 oz. cream cheese, and it would still be delicious with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
A couple of variations that I did with this recipe: It takes a little longer, but the night before I cooked the soup, I roasted the squash in the oven until they are soft. This makes it easier to get the "meat" out when you're ready to make the soup and it gives the soup a fabulous nutty roasted flavor. Also, instead of adding cream cheese, I added heavy cream, it makes the soup much lighter, and If you have family members that are slightly lactose intolerant, they can usually handle the heavy cream over the cream cheese (or add Lactaid, which works very well). But this soup recipe was very easy to make and very delicious. It is my new favorite soup. Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
This was a great recipe. I left out the cream cheese though, and added some garlic, ginger and a little bit of curry powder instead. It was extremely creamy without having to add anything to make it creamy. Very healthy and tasty!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
This is a yummy fall and winter soup. Nice and hearty. It is very rich with the 16 oz. of cream cheese, and works better with the 8 oz....better "squash" flavor without losing anything. My company (and I) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
I made this recipe w/the extra squash from the garden...took me about 10 minutes to prepare and 30 minutes to cook. A WONDERFUL soup that is easy and quick. I'm not sure how kids would like it. I modified the recipe for only 4 cups of squash, and only used about 5oz cream cheese, and it was excellent! Everyone that tried it raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
This soup is delicious. Make it on a crisp fall day when squash are plentiful and hot soup would surely warm you up! I used only 1 8oz. cream cheese as suggested and the flavor was wonderful. I also used my hand blender and pureed the soup right in the pot instead of pouring it into my blender a little at a time because hot liquids expand in a blender once it's turned on. Less dishes to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
My wife absolutely loved this soup during the final trimester of her pregnancy last winter - can't wait to start making it again when all the squash start coming in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This soup is fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very creamy and easy to make. I did not add the 16 ounces of cream cheese. I only added 4 ounces and it was still very creamy!!!! My 6 year old wanted seconds!!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I used a mixture of acorn and butternut squash. It was wonderful! I only used 8 oz. of cream cheese and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
I don't like butternut squash all that much, but this soup was amazingly rich and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States