Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is good, but I think it calls for too much cream cheese. When I was in the final stages of prep, I was thinking, wow, I LOVE creamy things - I mean I make my morning coffee as a heavy whip misto - but I thought I'd start small with half the amount of cream cheese - and it was still very heavy. When I make again, I think I will do with 1/4 the amount. I have to imagine that this is a typo, because I feel like this recipe is for butternut squash flavored cream cheese. Other than this - the recipe is quite fantastic! I used real butter, add some garlic and extra cayenne, and also added salt as I use homemade stock that does not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
OH wow, this is a super yummy recipe. Followed the full recipe, put in all the cream cheese. Very creamy and delicious. But I think next time I can do with just half of the cream cheese or maybe even just a quarter. Try the recipe! It's definitely worthy of all these positive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great Recipe! Thank you so much! This was easy, quick and delicious. Like so many others, I did alter the recipe some based on the many reviews I read. The alterations I made that I would do again: Add butter instead of margarine, buy pre pealed and precut fresh squash then boil in store bought chicken broth, add cinnamon, nutmeg about 1/8 cup of fresh parsley and doubled the cayenne for a little extra kick! Flavor was amazing! Didt not need ANY salt.. love that! What I would do different... I had already altered the cream cheese down to 1/2 of one pack. If I had to do it again, I would cut it down to 1/4 pack or none. I recommend blending everything and trying it without the cream cheese and perhaps adding it to taste. You may end up with two packs if that is your preference, or you may think 1/2 a pack is perfect, or none at all may suit you. Just give yourself the chance to make the choice before going all in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Takes a bit of time to cook, but it tastes awesome. My boyfriend, who says he hates squash, thought it was the best soup I've ever made. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum! The only 2 changes to this recipe were as follows: 1. I used just 1 pkg of cream cheese (1 pkg seemed to be plenty, and I used 1/3 less fat). 2. I baked my butternut squash whole (with a few fork pokes) at 400 for 1 hr and 20 mins. I used a rather large squash, so if you decide to bake yours, you should adjust your baking time accordingly. This will definitely be on my list of favorites. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Followed directions to a T, substituting chicken broth for bouillon. Delicious. Was a huge hit at a luncheon I took it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Love this recipe but I did make a few changes: I made it a butternut squash/ pumpkin soup. I just split the amount of squash and pumpkin. I also shredded some fresh ginger in after putting it through the food processor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is the creamiest, richest, most delicious and flavorful soup ever. What made this extra nice to make was the peeled and cubed squash that was available at Costco during Thanksgiving and Christmas. Not only did that save money and time, I'm pretty sure it saved a few of my fingertips and the launching of numerous obscenities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I am lactose intolerant so I was worried that without the cream cheese the recipe would be a flop, however it was absolutely delicious - I didn't have any marjoram as it is not a spice I use often and I used coriander instead which was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I left out the cream cheese and added a spoonfull of fresh Chevre when serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States