Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This soup is DELICIOUS! My family loved it. The cayenne pepper gives it a great zing. It's really creamy and filling, and leftovers reheat well in the microwave. I didn't change the recipe, but I AM a shortcut taker... I used three 12-oz boxes of frozen butternut squash--it's already cooked and pureed, so I heated it in the pot with the other ingredients until the squash wasn't frozen anymore then brought it to a boil, and eliminated the additional 20 minutes cooking time. I tossed the cream cheese in and blended with an immersion blender right in the cooking pot so I didn't have to transfer the soup back and forth. The flavor is wonderful. Just for variety I'm going to add cilantro and curry next time as it seems it would make a good Indian-style soup as well. I'm sure there are many possible variations, but try this soup as-is first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made it for Christmas dinner and it was raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My hubby hates trying new things & definitely hates butternut squash, but he LOVED this soup. I took the suggestions of others & roasted the squash in olive oil, sea salt & black pepper. I added chicken bouillon granules, a touch of nutmeg, dash of onion powder, & chipotle seasoning. I also added more cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I am going to make it for the weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a real keeper. I too used real butter (unsalted due to the bouillon.) I also only used one block of cream cheese. I finished it off with toasted pine nuts. Delicious! And so easy. Definitely better and quicker to roast the squash and scoop it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I don't know...it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Terrific, though that's way too much cream cheese. Using one package is fine. Also I'm good with two or three bouillon cubes instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! Very filling and wonderful with some crusty bread. I'm usually not a fan of spicy foods, but this had just the right kick to it. It's so easy also... can't really mess this one up. It also saves wonderfully in the freezer for easy reheating later. Only change I made was to reduce the cream cheese to only 8oz... the other 8oz definitely aren't needed. Love love love this! Several people asked me for the recipe! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Did not like. Maybe a lot less cream cheese would be better but don't want to waste my time trying. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have to admit I did what a few people suggested and put the apple cider and granny smith apple in this recipe that was the only thing I changed. And it was absolutely horrible to sour and the flavors did not blend at all together. I was very disappointed in this soup. I wish I hadn't have wasted the Delicious 2 butternut squash on this recipe, I'm sorry but this gets no stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States