Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! It was DIVINE. I took the advice of other reviewers and used one package of cream cheese and baked the squash. It was very easy and tasted simply amazing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyjul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Use half as much cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This soup was delicious. I chopped each butternut squash into large chunks, coated with a little bit of olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. Roasted at 375F for about 1.5 hours until the squash had caramelized and became very soft. The squash was so sweet and almost buttery when it came out of the oven - so good! Sauteed the onion and 1/2 of a cortland apple and then added that, the butternut squash and the stock to the blender in batches and pureed until smooth. Heated it gently in the stock pot with 4 ounces of neufetchel (1/3 less fat) cream cheese. Added a little more cayenne than the recipe called for and adjusted salt & pepper to taste. Some things I may try when reheating leftovers: Add just a dash of nutmeg and/or cinnamon. Adding just a bit of very finely minced fresh sage from the garden. Saved the seeds from the squash and may make some spicy toasted seeds and top the soup with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cann Lydem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe was great but I think it calls for WAY too much cream cheese. I started adding it and it was really thick so I stopped. I ended up with about 3/4 of one container of cream cheese and it called for two. I think it would have been way too rich thick with all of that cream cheese. I also used butter because margarine is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
So simple and so yummy! Didn't add the cayenne or marjoram but who cares? My husband wants it again this weekend. I also threw in 1/2 cup salsa from my garden before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
My wife loves this recipe, it's so easy. the only thing she did different was when she sautéed the onions in butter she added the black pepper, marjoram, cayenne pepper at that time. For more of a kick she also added a dash of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward J Ciano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I followed the directions as they were provided and people raved about the soup. One comment was that it was the best Butternut Squash soup they had ever had. I made it for Canadian Thanksgiving this past weekend and since I bought extra squash, I'm making another batch tonight when I get home. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
my picky two year old ate it all up- and that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Substituted the low-fat cream cheese and also cut back by half a package for half a cup of half-and-half. Bit more onion and when my spice rack took a fall I forgot to add the chicken bullion! But the family didn't notice, and loved it all the same! Amazing, and wish I had more butternut to keep this soup in stock for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used "not chicken chicken broth" sounds funny,to keep it vegetarian. I also used less cream cheese after reading reviews. And according to the poster. Glad i did because i think more and i would have lost to much of the butternut taste. Thanks am going to make it for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States