Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I used only a little bit of fat free half & half instead of all that fattening cream cheese and it turned out unbelievably great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianChick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely DELISH!!! As other reviewers suggested, I halved the squash, added olive oil, salt and pepper and put the cut side down on a baking sheet and cooked at 375 for 40 minutes. I also only used one 8 ounce cream cheese. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
The cream cheese seemed out of place. I think I'd like it substituting some regular cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is absolutely delicious!!! Used one container of spreadable cream cheese, and nutmeg instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe, Mary! My family loved it. We've never had squash soup before now... This is going in the recipe hall of fame- one of my favorite soups ever! I only used one package of cream cheese and it was great- garnished with a sprinkle of crispy bacon pieces and a little dollop of sour cream.... Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hard to please everyone at the table right? Wrong! Easy to make and easy to please. Thrilled to have found this. I agree, baking the squash first is a great hint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made with 7 cups squash and 4 cups of homemade chicken broth- came out wonderful! Very easy- My husband said, "I'm digging this soup- kept going back for seconds! I like a garnish on a smooth soup- any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
It tastes awesome but definitely not a soup. It's more of a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wow! This is really good. Like others, I used one package of cream cheese and a little more cayenne pepper. I didn't have majoram on hand, but basil works wonderfully in this. I also had no chicken bouillon cubes so I used vegetable stock. This is easy to make and is now on my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Delicious! As others, I roasted the squash and pulled the skin off. Took about an hour for mine to get really soft. I used less water/bouillon initially as I knew I could always thin it out. I had no marjoram, so used 1/2 the amount called for of oregano but I don't believe it added any distinguishable flavor. I used half sodium-free and half regular bouillon cubes. Finally, I followed the advice to use half the amount of cream cheese and thought that was sufficient. It was pretty thick, so I ladled some into a container to freeze before thinning the whole batch. I then thinned with additional water/bouillon mixture and added cayenne to taste. I thought this was fantastic as it was, but we were at an event a few weeks ago where there were butternut squash soup shooters with a candied bacon piece. THAT was divine! Would be wonderful for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States