Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used this recipe as a base for a really thick stew of veggies that were about to go bad. I baked the squash ahead of time, then blended it with the listed ingredients, using 1 can of coconut milk instead of evaporated milk + coconut. I then let it simmer with potatoes, leeks, and portabella mushrooms and thinned it a little with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Fantastic! This was a very big hit on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My daughter loved it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria Ceballos Ellsworth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A big hit with the family but Didn't get much kick. Reading reviews I would also add another Jalapeno pepper for more heat. Next time will omit the white sugar. Coconut milk gives it plenty of sweetness. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I'm big on using as few ingredients as possible...and what I have on hand (6 for this recipe). My simplified version turned out great! PreStep1. I started baking the squash before even finding the recipe: In eighths, facedown in 1/2 cup of water at 350 for 30min. I'd probably do it their way for ease next time. Step 1. Only added butter, onion, and 1 tsp of ginger because that's all I had. Created 'broth' out of 14oz water and some beef boullion. Step 2. Skipped all the ingredients added in Step 2. Scooped the soft baked squash out of its shells and blended with one chilpotle pepper packed in adobo sauce (sm can), pepper and a lot (~1.5tsp) of salt. No garnish. Fantastico!!! (3 adults loved, too spicy for the kids...might try 1/2 a pepper for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is excellent! It provides a great base for carrying other ingredients you might like to add, too. I already had roasted squash on hand, omitted onion and jalapeno, because I didn't have them. I also used 4 oz of heavy cream + 8 oz of skim milk in place of evaporated milk. I ended up adding about 1/8 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp white pepper and 1 tsp sea salt to achieve the "kick". In place of grated fresh, I chopped up crystallized ginger. So, I pretty much used a different set of ingredients to achieve something similar, but it's what I had on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I doubled the recipe but made some changes. In a double batch I used one Jalapeno, 1 tbsp crushed red peppers, 1 can evap. milk, one can coconut milk, 1 32oz box of organic chicken broth, and NO sugar! I pureed only 1/2 of the soup to allow for texture. Oh is it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I didn't have jalapeños on hand, so I used a dash of cayenne. I also used brown sugar instead of white, and added a generous dash of cinnamon. Didn't have the coconut milk on hand, but I did have some apple juice, so I substituted there too. I look forward to trying it with the coconut milk. I garnished my bowl with roasted walnuts and fresh parsley. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
My husband would never dream of ordering soup at a restaurant. It's not his thing, and he hates paying for something he's usually disappointd in. I tried this soup after reading through the reviews, and he was AMAZED. He took leftovers to work and told me he almost cried it was so good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States