Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I'm big on using as few ingredients as possible...and what I have on hand (6 for this recipe). My simplified version turned out great! PreStep1. I started baking the squash before even finding the recipe: In eighths, facedown in 1/2 cup of water at 350 for 30min. I'd probably do it their way for ease next time. Step 1. Only added butter, onion, and 1 tsp of ginger because that's all I had. Created 'broth' out of 14oz water and some beef boullion. Step 2. Skipped all the ingredients added in Step 2. Scooped the soft baked squash out of its shells and blended with one chilpotle pepper packed in adobo sauce (sm can), pepper and a lot (~1.5tsp) of salt. No garnish. Fantastico!!! (3 adults loved, too spicy for the kids...might try 1/2 a pepper for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is excellent! It provides a great base for carrying other ingredients you might like to add, too. I already had roasted squash on hand, omitted onion and jalapeno, because I didn't have them. I also used 4 oz of heavy cream + 8 oz of skim milk in place of evaporated milk. I ended up adding about 1/8 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp white pepper and 1 tsp sea salt to achieve the "kick". In place of grated fresh, I chopped up crystallized ginger. So, I pretty much used a different set of ingredients to achieve something similar, but it's what I had on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I doubled the recipe but made some changes. In a double batch I used one Jalapeno, 1 tbsp crushed red peppers, 1 can evap. milk, one can coconut milk, 1 32oz box of organic chicken broth, and NO sugar! I pureed only 1/2 of the soup to allow for texture. Oh is it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I didn't have jalapeños on hand, so I used a dash of cayenne. I also used brown sugar instead of white, and added a generous dash of cinnamon. Didn't have the coconut milk on hand, but I did have some apple juice, so I substituted there too. I look forward to trying it with the coconut milk. I garnished my bowl with roasted walnuts and fresh parsley. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
My husband would never dream of ordering soup at a restaurant. It's not his thing, and he hates paying for something he's usually disappointd in. I tried this soup after reading through the reviews, and he was AMAZED. He took leftovers to work and told me he almost cried it was so good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Fantastic. I'm sure you can tweak it to your own preferences, but it's just perfect as-is. This was my inaugural use of the immersion blender I received for Christmas, and it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I roasted the squash with two jalapeños, a shallot, a few carrots, and thyme. I sautéed crushed garlic with the onion and two additional jalapeños; seasoned with curry powder, allspice, and nutmeg; then added the roasted vegetables. I used low fat condensed milk and light coconut milk. I omitted the ginger and extra sugar (which I agree is completely unnecessary). I did enjoy the addition of sour cream, as the extra jalapeños made it quite spicy, but would leave off the additional thyme next time. I think the thyme would have been a better addition had I left in the ginger. This is a great recipe and using coconut milk is a smart idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
There is a reason this is a 5-star recipe. Its really good. You HAVE to roast the squash first. cut in half, put cut sides down into a baking dish, add a bit of water and bake at 350 for an hour. i followed the recipe exactly, but only used half of a jalapeno, as the one i had was HOT. my family raved about this soup. definitely a keeper. it tastes like something you would find at a super elegant restaurant. well done davey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Yummy! I loved this soup, I changed it a bit didn't add any cream and I made my own chicken stock but everything else was the same and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States