Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this recipe for the first time. Amazing flavor and pretty simple to make. Simple ingredients - simple process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Make it frequently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the simple instructions exactly. This soup was amazing. I will make this again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie Pfaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I wanted this to be better than it was. Used roasted squash, but found it too plain for my taste. I added a bit more thyme & added some curry powder in the hopes to bring the flavors out, but it still just seemed . . . kind of boring. Not bad, just uninteresting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Best soup ever! My family was skeptical but they all went back for seconds! I did alter it a little. I used one 4oz can of chopped and peeled green chiles instead of jalapeño, I baked 2 butternut squash instead of peeling and cubing it (cut in half, remove seeds, face down on cookie sheet for 45-60 mins at 350 degrees), and used 2 cans of chicken broth. I did not use ginger as my family doesn't like it. After tasting it, I didn't use sour cream or thyme. It was awesome as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Love this soup. We get the cubed squash from Costco and then use two packages to double the recipe. No need to roast that way and really saves time. I mostly use red pepper flakes instead of the jalapeno becuase that is what we have on hand. Usually I'll saute up bacon and then some onion and red pepper in a little bacon grease and add it to the blended soup but it is good as written too. I only blend about 1/2 the soup because we like it a little chunkier. A little glug of wine at the end never hurts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great soup! I made a few changes based on some of the comments: i roasted the squash first with a little butter, salt and pepper, added double the frsh ginger, 1 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/2 a cup fat free yogurt instead of the evaporated milk. I used my own chicken stock which was heavy on the thyme so I left it out of the soup. I also used splenda instead of the sugar. Garnished with crackers and sour cream. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rmauro
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This soup is just incredible! The coconut milk adds a subtle sweetness to it. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
love this recipe. I follow the directions for the most part, but bake my squash first (350 around 60 minutes or so). Helps to cut down the time actually making the soup. It turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love this soup! I takes longer than 15 minutes to prep b/c the squash is not easy to peel/ cut. That being said, it is worth every minute of work for the finished product. I add 2 red bell peppers, red pepper flakes and extra coconut milk. It is really great on cold fall and winter nights :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States