Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Beyond delicious. Halved the squash, and roasted with a dab of butter and salt/pepper at 375 degrees for 1-1/4 hours. Threw in 1/2 red bell pepper and a large carrot since needing to use up. Didn’t de-seed the jalapeno as we wanted the soup to have some kick (davey’s personal recipe only dices the jalapeno so seeding it is likely an AR edit; probably why a number of reviewers think it lacks heat). Omitted the sugar. Added several splashes of sauvignon blanc, 1 teaspoon curry, and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. Will double this recipe the next time. Thanks, davey, for sharing a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Spicy with a kick. A favorite standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grantham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I loved this soup! It was the best butternut squash soup I've ever had. I added a little paprika and nutmeg for extra flavor. I used a large spicy jalapeno and it was VERY spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great Recipe and different from the typical "sweeter" butternut squash soup recipes that add pear, etc. I doubled the recipe but still only used 1 jalapeno and it was plenty hot and spicy. Might have been waaaaay too hot if I would have added the second one. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This soup is so good. I didn’t have coconut milk and didn’t want to use evaporated milk so I used almond milk. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken and I omitted the sugar. The soup was creamy enough as is so I also omitted the sour cream. I know I made some changes but I think the soup would be five stars without the changes. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is the bomb! My family and I loved it. I substituted a couple of items. Unsweetened Almond milk instead of evaporated milk. Truvia baking blend instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I tried this recipe as is and loved it! I had froze 1/2 of the recipe. I decided to try something new for leftover turkey from Christmas and defrosted the soup, added the turkey and heated it up. The flavors blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
absolutely delicious!! I used shallots instead of onion and 2 jalapeños for more of a kick. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Oh So Good! This soup was delish! I did add a little cayenne and sage since we like these. All recipes say to puree it . It tasted so good I skipped that step.I also roasted the squash and onion.I really did not think my husband would eat it. To my surprise he went back for 2nd.'s. This will be a family favorite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet
Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was the best soup I've ever eaten. The modifications I made... - Cut and cubed butternut, coated w coconut oil and roasted at 350 degrees. - I had no evaporated milk but google says a good substitution is 3/4 water mixed with 2/3 powdered milk to equal 1 cup evaporated milk. They're the same thing! - I added an extra jalapeño pepper to sauté. I used coconut oil to sauté instead of butter. - I added paprika powder and turmeric powder after the milk and coconut milk was poured in and mixed along with sea salt and pepper. I let it cook a little longer to allow flavors to meld then puree. - No need for sour cream! - For a diary-free soup - it is totally ok to increase the coconut milk and eliminate the evaporated milk. It'll still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States