Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Amazing, I forgot the thyme I was too hungry used slightly less ginger, and greek yogurt instead of sour cream (I do this with everything never use sour cream any more), and I used cubed squash from the store. I also used my Nutri Bullet. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used only the coconut milk because of a lactose issue, it was perfect. And amazing! I didn't have any jalopenos on hand, so I added a dash of cayenne. I bought the cubed butternut squash at the grocery and threw it right in the pot with the broth, onions and ginger, in about 20 minutes, I used the stick blender and voila! Thank you so much for this fast, easy, awesome recipe! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
So good! Almost more of a dessert given the sweetness. I had to add almost twice the stock to cover the squash, but other than that I made the recipe as is. I think next time I make it, I'll use two jalapeno's, as I didn't really taste it in this batch. I really don't think I'd change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
very yummy! amazing to have on a cold winters day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Simply creamy deliciousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really loved this soup. It was really easy to make and is delicious. Instead of adding evaporated milk and coconut milk, I added only the can of coconut milk. It was an experiment since I'd prefer not to open two cans and not use all the contents for a recipe. I didn't miss the evaporated milk at all and the coconut milk made it sweet enough that I omitted the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amoebala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Needs a little more heat for our club, but overall a very good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great starting point. Left out the (bizarre) coconut and evaporated milk and used 1 c regular milk instead. Jalapeno seems an odd choice with butternut squash, so I substituted 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/4 tsp each turmeric and paprika. Cooked the onions longer than called for too, and added the thyme to the sauteed onions. The resulting soup had a nice earthy spicy flavor, without the bite of jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used Sunshine Squash instead of Butternut, since I had it on hand. I skipped the sugar, sour cream, evaporated milk, and butter. Instead, I sautéed my onions in 1 T. coconut oil and used a full can of coconut milk. I ran my hand blender around the batch after it was done cooking. Moo-AH! It was magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It was super. I didn't use the sour cream, and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States