Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
So good! Almost more of a dessert given the sweetness. I had to add almost twice the stock to cover the squash, but other than that I made the recipe as is. I think next time I make it, I'll use two jalapeno's, as I didn't really taste it in this batch. I really don't think I'd change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
very yummy! amazing to have on a cold winters day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Simply creamy deliciousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really loved this soup. It was really easy to make and is delicious. Instead of adding evaporated milk and coconut milk, I added only the can of coconut milk. It was an experiment since I'd prefer not to open two cans and not use all the contents for a recipe. I didn't miss the evaporated milk at all and the coconut milk made it sweet enough that I omitted the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amoebala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Needs a little more heat for our club, but overall a very good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great starting point. Left out the (bizarre) coconut and evaporated milk and used 1 c regular milk instead. Jalapeno seems an odd choice with butternut squash, so I substituted 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/4 tsp each turmeric and paprika. Cooked the onions longer than called for too, and added the thyme to the sauteed onions. The resulting soup had a nice earthy spicy flavor, without the bite of jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used Sunshine Squash instead of Butternut, since I had it on hand. I skipped the sugar, sour cream, evaporated milk, and butter. Instead, I sautéed my onions in 1 T. coconut oil and used a full can of coconut milk. I ran my hand blender around the batch after it was done cooking. Moo-AH! It was magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It was super. I didn't use the sour cream, and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is going to be my new go-to butternut squash soup recipe. My modifications: Used two pre-cut packages of squash and roasted them with a light coating of olive oil, garlic salt and white pepper at 400 degrees for about 45 min before putting into pot. I accidentally bought creme de coco instead of coconut milk so I used about half of what the recipe called for to manage sweetness. I used two jalapeños instead of one and use fresh ginger (don't substitute this!)- it was a hit! No need for sour cream, but add some croutons for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I'm not a fan of squash (of any kind) but this recipe is absolutely amazing!! The onion and jalapeno "kick" make it. Thanks for the tip about roasting the squash first because it was a bear to peel. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States