Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bearlover315

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This recipe has been used a few times by my husband and I with great results. The only change we make is subbing out the coconut milk and sugar for a bit of almond milk, since that's what we have on hand. It really doesn't even need the sour cream. This is a delicious soup that is packed with nutrients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This soup is fantastic. Like many other reviewers, I omitted the evaporated milk and sour cream--mostly because I didn't have them on hand. I just substituted a little more coconut milk and a little more chicken broth. It was still gloriously creamy and the jalapeno gave it the perfect amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My guests lapped this soup up! It is very flavorful, but a touch sweet for my tastes. I'm going to increase the ginger and add some chili's to it next time to try to cut through that sweet, sweet flavor. It is good. Don't hesitate to make this per the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Wonderful! Very good topped w/Pica de Gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was a realy good soup. I did add turnips to the mixture. I'm a low carber and use turnips in just about everything! I also used Lite cocunut milk and added some crushed red pepper. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe truly is 5 stars!! I did not roast my squash, but followed the recipe. I did bake my squash for 15 mins on 400 degrees to make it easier to peel and chop. Then I only simmered for 15-20 mins. This was not too spicy in my opinion, just the right amount of kick. It only needed a dollop of sour cream on top and I sprinkled dried thyme as well. Served with homemade breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Made as part of Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. I toasted some almonds with cajun seasoning and it tied everything together. Not too spicy for anyone.. however next time I make it as a family meal I look forward to added a little more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Best soup EVER! to make things easier, I use the peeled/seeded squash from Costco and use jalapeños in a jar, and grated ginger that comes in a jar too. Saves lots of time in prep! Oh, really don't forget the sour cream and thyme...it's the perfect topper and looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States