Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Terry Kuhn Graff
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Easy recipe. I used the blender to puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Kuhn Graff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
CATHERINE, I THANK YOU! We simply couldn't believe how good it really was! I normally try a recipe as written, try again to personalize, then review. But I couldn't wait! In 25 years, I never felt the need to submit a review this quickly. First off, I bought butternut squash for a different soup recipe. I never cared much for cooking it, much less eating it, but doctors orders! (Ok, dieticians suggestions). Further, I wasn't excited because the recipe seemed lacking, and I frankly don't have the squash cooking experience to correct it. (At least beforehand; I am a taste-n-adjust Master!) When I found Catherine's recipe today, I was intrigued by the savory spices and knew it would work! It was a dark and stormy night. Actually, a dreary, rainy afternoon. No way was I going shopping (getting dressed to go OUT?) so these are the adjustments I made: Used cumin SEED; inc 3 cups squash, inc 2 pinch ginger/cinn, inc 1.5 cups onions, omitted leeks, dec 1.5TB butter, added 0.5TB olive oil, sub white zinfandel wine, sub lowsodium broth, sub watered down heavy cream, sub cheese ravioli, added 1.5 cups fresh spinach. Because this was for supper, I added 1/2 lb. shrimp. Pureed squash mixture in blender (white cabinets). Cooked ravioli according to package:4 minutes. Used fresh ground white pepper, no salt needed. The soup was slightly sweet, savory, creamy, complex, subtle.....my Word, it's GOOD, especially served with salad and garlic biscuits. All three yummy hot, at room temp, and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Has a little curry-like flavor to it and the ravioli is a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
In finding this recipe, we expected a really good soup but not one of 5 star fame. In that regard, we came away very satisfied. We used spinach & cheese ravioli from Costco. We purchased two large sized butternut squash which unexpectedly produced 7 heaping cups. Given that circumstance, we added an extra onion (2 onions) and 2 leaks. Having not read the reviews beforehand, we adjusted the liquid to 1 cup white wine and 6 cups chicken broth. By dumb luck, the liquid seemed just right given the extra squash & veggies being used. We doubled the spices, used about 1/2 tablespoon fresh ginger to prevent it from wasting, and added a dash of cayenne powder. After mixing in the squash, wine, broth, and seasoning, we adjusted the cooking instructions by bringing this mixture to a boil, and then simmering for 15 minutes. A 16 ounce tub of sour cream was subbed for the light cream. We would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious! Made as is but I left out the cream and still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Photo by SKA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was a great and actually easy meal. I used a Japanese Pumpkin because that is what I had on hand and they are more popular in Australia than Butternut Squash, but they taste about the same. I also made my own spinach and ricotta ravioli from wongton wrappers. I made the soup first and while that was cooking I was able to make the ravioli. When the ravioli was cooking that is when I blended the soup. With that said it was easy to get both parts of the meal completed at the same time. I was able to make this from start to finish under an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I messed this up and it still came out delish! Did not have cumin, spinach ravioli, or cream; used coriander, mushroom ravioli and 2% milk. "Pureed" (with a blender, so it ended up more like a chowder) before the onion step to leave them whole. SO YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great flavor and texture. Reduced the stock to 4 Cps and cut out leeks. It was a nice thick soup. Used cheese ravioli. Nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I doubled the amount of squash (roasting and cubing prior to adding) and used green onions instead of leeks. Everything was going along great...The soup smelled fabulous, the flavor was fantastic...then I added the cream. Big mistake. The cream had the effect of thickening the soup and mellowing the flavors too much. Used spinach/cheese tortellini and it went well, under the circumstances. The flavors definitely say "fall" so I'll try this soup again but only as a first course and omit the cream entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States