Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
It was pretty good. I actually do not like onions and didn't realize that leeks were just another kind of onion. I wasn't able to puree the "broth" like I wanted to so that is something I would definitely change in the future. I cut cream to skim milk and 1/2 the butter. Flavor was great though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very elegant presentation, and nice flavor combination. I would serve this again for company. I might thicken the soup a little next time- a little higher squash to liquid ratio. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very good! I left out the leeks and added one fried tart apple... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I really liked this. Unfortunately my stepson refused to eat it. The rest of the family (two meat-n-potatoes men and one 12yr old girl) liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I modified the soup quite a bit by adding several granny smith apples (I also like to add parsnips, but didn't this time)and some apple cider I had on hand in place of some of the liquid. What I really liked was the ravioli with the soup. Some brown butter served on top with parsley is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
eh. It was ok...not too flavorful, actually. Would need to tinker with the recipe to make this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The leeks were a nice addition to the flavour of this soup, and the kids loved the ravioli in it! No one in my family likes butternut squash the way I do, but the kids devoured this soup! If making it for adults only, you may want to add something for more "kick"... not necessarily spice, but maybe some apple - cooked and pureed with the squash. If I ever make this for company, I will be sure to use Spinach Pasta Ravioli for the contrast of green colour with the bright orange of the soup base. Beautiful and impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was a really good soup and well received by my family. I didn't think it needed the ravioli, but if you were looking at it as a meal then definitely add the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I halved this recipe and made it using canned squash and skipped the pureeing step at the end. I also added potatoes and mashed them when they turned soft. I made the soup first and then added chopped up raw shrimp which cooked in the steaming hot soup while the ravioli's boiled. Turned out delicious. Without the alterations, i expect this soup is just as good. The potato just thickened it up and gave it more substance and the shrimp was a delicious pairing. So was a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States