Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was excellent. I made exactly as written. I agree with some previous posters - it was a tad on the thin side, but I think thickness is a preference thing. Next time I will take away a cup of broth and add a little more squash. A tip: Make sure you soften the onions really well. Mine didn't puree up very well. I was fine with it that way though. The flavor of this dish was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
3 as written. I did a lot of tweaking. First of all I added a lot more squash and reduced the amount of broth. 2nd I really didn't think this had much flavor. I added a lot more spice and even brown sugar. I guess I am used to sweeter butter nut squash. I also omitted the cream. After all of this tweaking it was pretty good and very filling! I didn't like the spinach ravioli but I might try regular next time. Will def make again with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The soup was good as stated but the ravioli didn't do much for me. I cooked this as a new addition for Christmas dinner and I think we will try it at Thanksgiving too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This soup came out great w/out changes to the original recipe. I didn't use the ravioli, just served the soup w/ some crusty bread. I like the combination of the wine w/ the spices, but I think next time I'll try vegetable stock instead of chicken, as I thought the chicken taste coming through was a little too much. I'd like to keep it w/ the veggies so that will be my only change! Great soup for the fall and works well as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. The only difference I did was I cut the squash lengthwise and bakes it in the oven for 1 hour then I scooped it out and added it to the broth and onions to simmer for a little while. When it was purreed its was thick I did not have a thin soup like sime had said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was fabulous. My husband has a mental block about soups and doesn't really like them for a meal. He loved this, and I will definitely make it again. I tweaked it a little bit. I used 2 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of apple cider. The wine I used was a dry Baldwin apple wine. I used about 5 cups of butternut squash and still thought it could have been a little thicker. The flavors were wonderful. I added a bit of browned butter to the bowls right before serving. I'll definitely be making this again over the coming fall and winter months. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The recipe definitely needed some additives. I condensed this recipe to feed about 6 people. I added a chopped carrot, celery stick, one potato, and diced red pepper. I substituted the cream for skim milk and it came out delicious! With or without the ravioli is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
It was pretty good. I actually do not like onions and didn't realize that leeks were just another kind of onion. I wasn't able to puree the "broth" like I wanted to so that is something I would definitely change in the future. I cut cream to skim milk and 1/2 the butter. Flavor was great though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very elegant presentation, and nice flavor combination. I would serve this again for company. I might thicken the soup a little next time- a little higher squash to liquid ratio. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very good! I left out the leeks and added one fried tart apple... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States