Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I doubled the amount of squash (roasting and cubing prior to adding) and used green onions instead of leeks. Everything was going along great...The soup smelled fabulous, the flavor was fantastic...then I added the cream. Big mistake. The cream had the effect of thickening the soup and mellowing the flavors too much. Used spinach/cheese tortellini and it went well, under the circumstances. The flavors definitely say "fall" so I'll try this soup again but only as a first course and omit the cream entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I skipped the cumin, nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, and wine. It still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Awesome recipe! Didn't have the wine and used vegetable stock instead (vegetarian in the family) and it still turned out great. I've made it with the chicken broth and wine too. You can't miss with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
weird falvor..it was good..not something i would make again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was excellent! I just used cheese ravioli because I could not find spinach, and it was great! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe! Easy, tasty, filling. It looks impressive when served too. :) I didn't have any leeks, so I omitted those. And I added more ginger, just b/c I love it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
YUM!! I followed previous reviewers' ideas and baked the squash first at 400 for an hour, so it peeled really easy. Then I sauteed some vidalia onions in olive oil, instead of using butter and used only 4 cups of broth instead of 5. So delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annmarie
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Wow! Amazing recipe! THANK YOU! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken so that my vegetarian daughter could enjoy this as well. I followed teh advice of other and doubled the amount of squash. Will definitely make again - next time with spinach tortellini I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This soup is definately a good way to make butternut squash. I did double the squash this time, and might even add a little more next time around for better texture. And I used tortellini instead of ravioli. Great for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
The only changes I made were to add 1 serano pepper and slightly increase the spices. This was very flavorful. I had to make without a blender or food processor so the texture wasn't as great as it would be with one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States