Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This soup is delicious! Great as an appetizer, just place one med-large spinach ravioli in the center of bowl and top with soup for a wonderful color contrast or serve with a salad and some crusty bread for a filling dinner. Great winter dish to warm your bones! Also, the recipe should state 2 medium butternut squashes, peeled seeded and diced with just enough chicken stock to cover. This should help with the thickness. Since I have had a hard time finding the spinach pasta cheese ravioli, I have also tried the tri colored tortellini the texture is very good. For vegetarians who would like to make this soup, you can substitute a light vegetable stock for the chicken stock called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is definitely good enough to serve for company. Like Catherine said, we just use vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. If you're in a big hurry, you can use a couple packages of frozen pureed squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I halved this recipe and made it using canned squash and skipped the pureeing step at the end. I also added potatoes and mashed them when they turned soft. I made the soup first and then added chopped up raw shrimp which cooked in the steaming hot soup while the ravioli's boiled. Turned out delicious. Without the alterations, i expect this soup is just as good. The potato just thickened it up and gave it more substance and the shrimp was a delicious pairing. So was a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was excellent. I made exactly as written. I agree with some previous posters - it was a tad on the thin side, but I think thickness is a preference thing. Next time I will take away a cup of broth and add a little more squash. A tip: Make sure you soften the onions really well. Mine didn't puree up very well. I was fine with it that way though. The flavor of this dish was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is very unique and adds just the right hint of sweetness. I used large cheese raviolis instead of spinach. The recipe is inconsistent as to which ones the recipe calls for, but I can't imagine anything being better than the cheese raviolis in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A great addition to the menu!! Thanks Kate for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was fabulous. My husband has a mental block about soups and doesn't really like them for a meal. He loved this, and I will definitely make it again. I tweaked it a little bit. I used 2 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of apple cider. The wine I used was a dry Baldwin apple wine. I used about 5 cups of butternut squash and still thought it could have been a little thicker. The flavors were wonderful. I added a bit of browned butter to the bowls right before serving. I'll definitely be making this again over the coming fall and winter months. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. The only difference I did was I cut the squash lengthwise and bakes it in the oven for 1 hour then I scooped it out and added it to the broth and onions to simmer for a little while. When it was purreed its was thick I did not have a thin soup like sime had said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States