Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This soup is delicious! Great as an appetizer, just place one med-large spinach ravioli in the center of bowl and top with soup for a wonderful color contrast or serve with a salad and some crusty bread for a filling dinner. Great winter dish to warm your bones! Also, the recipe should state 2 medium butternut squashes, peeled seeded and diced with just enough chicken stock to cover. This should help with the thickness. Since I have had a hard time finding the spinach pasta cheese ravioli, I have also tried the tri colored tortellini the texture is very good. For vegetarians who would like to make this soup, you can substitute a light vegetable stock for the chicken stock called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is very unique and adds just the right hint of sweetness. I used large cheese raviolis instead of spinach. The recipe is inconsistent as to which ones the recipe calls for, but I can't imagine anything being better than the cheese raviolis in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A great addition to the menu!! Thanks Kate for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is definitely good enough to serve for company. Like Catherine said, we just use vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. If you're in a big hurry, you can use a couple packages of frozen pureed squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
The spice combination in this recipe is perfect. I prefer a bit thicker soup, so the second time I reduced the liquied by one cup. I also thought the cheese ravioli doesn't go well with the soup at all - maybe the spinach would work better, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
good soup- i decreased the stock by 1.5 cups, increased the squash to deepen the flavor, and then added chopped spinach at the end in lieu of the ravioli. i just did a drizzle of half and half and the dairy wasnt really missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was pretty good, but I am not sure if I will make it again. I made the following changes: didn't have any leeks, so used 2 onions; used 4 cups of broth instead of 5; and used tricolor cheese tortellini instead of ravioli. It did turn out well, but I'm not sure if the flavor is really for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Great, filling soup. I added extra spice and a bit more squash. I also slashed the broth(made mine veggie) by about 1.5 cups. The spinach ravioli was a great addition. Can't wait to make it again- it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This soup was absolutely fantastic - the nutmeg and wine give it the most subtle and wonderful flavor - highly recommended! I would suggest adding MORE SQUASH though - I doubled the amount of squash because when I pureed it the first time I found it too thin. Doubling the amount of squash just makes the flavor deeper, but doesn't affect the other ingredient proportions. For those looking to lighten it even further, I replaced the light cream with rice milk (you could do soy milk also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States