Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. I also doubled the amount of squash because that flavor wasn't very strong. I only had wild mushroom ravioli on hand, which was fine, but next time I'll use what the recipe called for. I will also probably double the amount of butter. Overall, it's a very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Too much work! My husband and I each ate a little bowl, and no one went back for seconds. I was left with a huge pot that no one really wanted. It could have been delicious, but I felt like it was missing something, and even after blending it in a blender the squash gave it a grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
5 cups broth, 3 cups squash for great consistency. up the spices, add a diced apple. use puree setting on blender, NOT a hand mixer, that was crazy, mixture splattered everywhere... the soup/sauce really is very delicious - multiple uses..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious. Didn't have cream or leeks on hand, so I added an extra onion for the leek and subbed plain yogurt stirred with organic lowfat milk for the cream. Also, I was missing one cup of chicken broth so I added 1/4 extra cup of white wine plus 1/4 cup of sherry. Seasoned with white and black pepper and high-end parmesan cheese at the table. It was delicious. Next time I will try to have heavy cream and leeks on hand -- I love their delicate flavor. But I will keep my touch of sherry and the white pepper. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Incredible. I had expected this soup to be good but the complexity of spinach cheese ravioli with the squash was well beyond what I had anticipated. My modifications were 1) I forgotten the cream 2) I used veggie broth instead of chicken 3) I used a few tablespoons of red wine vinegar and 4) I used no white wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was delicious! I nixed the leeks and ginger and substituted with a whole sliced apple, softened in a frying pan with water for about 10 min and a bit more cinnamon. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very interesting flavor palette, I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very delicious, althought when we made this, we had to alter it quite a bit because we were short lots of ingredients. We didn't have any leeks so we just had onions. We didn't have white wine, so we used red wine instead. We also didn't have any chicken broth, so we used beef broth. We didn't have any ravioli, so instead we used three-cheese tortillini. Despite all of our changes, it turned out absolutely wonderful! It was a neat new way to have butternut squash soup and we will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was fantastic! The ravioli gave it a depth of flavor I wasn't expecting and made it much more asthetically pleasing. I used mushroom ravioli because I couldn't find spinach but it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fabulous recipe! It's a different take on butternut squash soup, and absolutely delicious! My VERY VERY picky kids loved it and my very skeptical husband quietly slurped down bowl after bowl. We literally fought over the leftovers! I accidentally only had heavy whipping cream on hand instead of light cream, and I'd have to admit that little "accident" was quite decadent! I'm sure it would be lovely with the light cream, too. I have another squash roasting in the oven right now to do it all over again! (I roasted the squash first, then cubed it, because I just don't like cutting uncooked squash.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States